Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Contributor
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎21-06-2012
Accepted Solution

ADSL 2+ Noise margin

I have recently been upgraded to ADSL 2+, speeds were initially very disapointing (8Mb/s sync rate) so I followed BTs advice for non BT modems and reset it after which I got a 10.5MB/s sync rate

 

While theresulting speed boost (up from 7Mb/s sync rates) is welcome I notice that my noise margin is a little high at 8.0 - 8.5db. The line was rock solid through the 10 day testing period with no disconnects. I have tried the master socket and after 3 days again rock solid but no significant change in speed or drop in noise margin.

 

I suspect the high noise margin is a carry over from when I was on ADSLmax - as it had a similar noise margin - which itself probably resulted from when my orginal BT modem broke down resulting in a flurry of diconnects/

 

Do you guys think it is worth asking for my noise margin to be reset to see if I can get a little more out of the connection - I'll admin that it would be nice to see a double figures download speed.

 

Speed test results:

 

Results Image not loaded



1. Best Effort Test:  -provides background information.

 Download  Speed
 8.73 Mbps
  
0 Mbps21 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 8.73 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
 IP Profile for your line is - 9.39 Mbps


2. Upstream Test:  -provides background information.

 Upload Speed
 0.69 Mbps
  
0 Mbps0.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.69Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps

 

I am on a netgear modem router so I don't get the amount of stats one gets from a hub but here is what I have:

 

System Up Time 76:10:41

PortStatusTxPktsRxPktsCollisionsTx B/sRx B/sUp Time
WANPPPoA5893998073610349301376:09:13
LAN10M/100M2034000091076:10:23
WLAN11M/54M/150M7573965800440337650251:45:33

 

ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
Connection Speed10648 Kbps888 Kbps
Line Attenuation34.4 dB18.2 dB
Noise Margin8.3 dB13.1 dB
Distinguished Sage
Posts: 52,843
Registered: ‎27-01-2010

Re: ADSL 2+ Noise margin

[ Edited ]

I would ask to get noise margin reset to 6db which will increase your connection speed   for your attenuation I would expect about 11.5/12mb

 

contact mods



can take up to 3 working days for mods to contact you

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side of the post.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
Contributor
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎21-06-2012
0

Re: ADSL 2+ Noise margin

Thank you for the quick response! I have put my request in and will post back the result once I get a response.

 

I will admit that with FTTC or FTTP not likely to reach my exchange for a few years (at least) effectivly doubling my connection speed (from adslMax) will be quite nice.

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 52,843
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: ADSL 2+ Noise margin

I have same problem with FTTC so need to make best of adsl2+

 

post new stats after noise margin reset please - just like to see new figures

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side of the post.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
Contributor
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎21-06-2012
0

Re: ADSL 2+ Noise margin

[ Edited ]

Thanks for your helkp guys!

 

One of the moderators has reset by broadband profile and I seem to have gained an extre 1Mb/s, the upstream speeds have also impreved somewhat.

 

Current stats:

 

1. Best Effort Test:  -provides background information.

 Download  Speed
 9.58 Mbps
  
0 Mbps21 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 

 Download speedachieved during the test was - 9.58 Mbps
 For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
 IP Profile for your line is - 10.3 Mbps


2. Upstream Test:  -provides background information.

 Upload Speed
 0.96 Mbps
  
0 Mbps0.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed

 

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.96Mbps
 Additional Information:
 Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps



 

ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
Connection Speed11672 Kbps1159 Kbps
Line Attenuation34.4 dB18.2 dB
Noise Margin5.2 dB5.7 dB

 

One final question. Does resetting my profile put the line back in a 10 day testing period?

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 49,869
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: ADSL 2+ Noise margin

it is best just now to leave the connection to settle after a noise margin reset but there is no training period as such

john46 | BT.com Help Site | BT Service Status
Someone Solved Your Question?
Please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Try a Search
See if someone in the community had the same problem and how they got it resolved.
Aspiring Expert
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎01-06-2012
0

Re: ADSL 2+ Noise margin

I got put on ADSL2+ on the 26th June and my noise margin is always about 7db but I'm getting loads of errors.  It's only restarted 3 times so far and not gone past 12.39Mbps yet Smiley Sad

 

Hopefully it will go up by Friday when the ten day period is up and I'll stop getting errors although I don't know whether or not that's the case.

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 49,869
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: ADSL 2+ Noise margin

@ lovely lisa
once your line training is completed then we can look at trying to improve your connection and getting the errors down

john46 | BT.com Help Site | BT Service Status
Someone Solved Your Question?
Please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Try a Search
See if someone in the community had the same problem and how they got it resolved.
Aspiring Expert
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎01-06-2012
0

Re: ADSL 2+ Noise margin

I'm thinking about looking into bellwire removal after friday but the socket is quite old and doesn't look like any in the videos so i'll have to upload a picture first if it doesn't get better

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 49,869
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: ADSL 2+ Noise margin

ok no problem

john46 | BT.com Help Site | BT Service Status
Someone Solved Your Question?
Please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Try a Search
See if someone in the community had the same problem and how they got it resolved.