Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Aspiring Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎18-12-2012
0 Ratings
Accepted Solution

Admin Password not working, need to check settings

[ Edited ]

Hi this is my first post so go easy on me.

 

I have recently experienced a dramatic drop in my wifi speed, I contacted BT customers support who carried out checks to my broadband system and couldn't find anything wrong, I contacted them again last night and they carried out a remote desktop access via a lap top and checked the system and said again that its all ok.

 

I have been reading this forum over that last couple of days and I have been trying to access the settings on my router but the "admin password" is not allowing me access!!!!!

 

I have reset the modem and pressed the "reset to default" button and it still won't let me in.

 

I have a home hub 2 and the external speed using BT's speed test is 8.25meg but my wifi speed has is only allowing me just under 1 meg and sometimes 1.8meg.

 

Before this drop in speed I was able to view HD with 5.1 sound from my mac to my apple TV instantly via wifi now this is a non event and all other equipment used throughout the house is nearly rendered useless.

 

Any idea how I can get into the settings so I can post up my details for you experts to look at and give me some pointers.

 

It is a little bit awkward for me to connect everything up via ethernet but can be done if required (but would render air play useless)

 

Thanks in advance

 

Jon

 

 

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 61,300
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0 Ratings

Re: Admin Password not working, need to check settings

Until you can post your ADSL stats it is very hard to advise you further

john46 | BT.com Help Site | BT Service Status
Someone Solved Your Question?
Please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Try a Search
See if someone in the community had the same problem and how they got it resolved.
Aspiring Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎18-12-2012
0 Ratings

Re: Admin Password not working, need to check settings

Thats the problem john, my admin password is not working (the one on the back of the home hub 2) so I can't obtain the ADSL stats.

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 61,300
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0 Ratings

Re: Admin Password not working, need to check settings

Have you tried a full factory reset by using a paper clip in the factory reset button

john46 | BT.com Help Site | BT Service Status
Someone Solved Your Question?
Please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Try a Search
See if someone in the community had the same problem and how they got it resolved.
Aspiring Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎18-12-2012
0 Ratings

Re: Admin Password not working, need to check settings

Yes I have done that, do you have to press the button in for a while or just hear the click?

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 61,300
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0 Ratings

Re: Admin Password not working, need to check settings

this link may help you http://bt.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/11386/~/how-do-i-reset-my-bt-home-hub-to-its-factory-...

john46 | BT.com Help Site | BT Service Status
Someone Solved Your Question?
Please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Try a Search
See if someone in the community had the same problem and how they got it resolved.
Aspiring Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎18-12-2012
0 Ratings

Re: Admin Password not working, need to check settings

Hi John, i'm in the system now Smiley Happy

 

These are my ADSL stats and the download speed looks fine (but i'm no expert)

 

ADSL line status
Connection information
Line stateConnected
Connection time0 days, 0:20:12
Downstream8,128 Kbps
Upstream448 Kbps

 

ADSL settings
VPI/VCI0/38
TypePPPoA
ModulationITU-T G.992.1
Latency typeFast
Noise margin (Down/Up)7.4 dB / 21.0 dB
Line attenuation (Down/Up)21.0 dB / 12.0 dB
Output power (Down/Up)19.8 dBm / 12.2 dBm
Loss of Framing (Local)0
Loss of Signal (Local)0
Loss of Power (Local)0
FEC Errors (Down/Up)0 / 0
CRC Errors (Down/Up)0 / N/A
HEC Errors (Down/Up)N/A / 0
Error Seconds (Local)0
 
  Hide Details  

 

 

 
 
Distinguished Guru
Posts: 6,227
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0 Ratings

Re: Admin Password not working, need to check settings

You're on ADSLMax (not the newer ADSL 2 or 2+).  Given that ADSLMax is limited to 8M maximum, your connection is as fast as it could possibly be.

Distinguished Guru
Posts: 7,684
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0 Ratings

Re: Admin Password not working, need to check settings

Sounds like wifi interference to me

-+-No longer a forum member-+-
Distinguished Sage
Posts: 39,271
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0 Ratings

Re: Admin Password not working, need to check settings

[ Edited ]

A speed test needs to be done using Ethernet, as the wireless on the HH2 could be on its way out.

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Forumhelp (personal website) is back online with lots of useful info for BT customers. Some links may be out-of-date, but I will update them when I get time.