Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Aspiring Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-02-2011
0

BT Broadband Desktop Won't Open?

Anyone had this before?  I double click the desktop icon or the ? in the task bar tray and nothin at all happens....even if i left click>Open still nothing?

 

All I wanna do is set up file sharing?  Is there another way or do i have to use BT BB Desktop?

 

Any help would be appriciated.

Aspiring Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-02-2011
0

Re: BT Broadband Desktop Won't Open?

Im not to bothered about the Broadband Desktop tool not installing. 

 

Is there another way to set up File sharing between computers connected to my Hub without using the Desktop tool??

 

 

Any help much appriciated?

Recognised Expert
Posts: 867
Registered: ‎04-02-2010
0

Re: BT Broadband Desktop Won't Open?

You don't have to use BB desktop - in fact I would advise against it.

Could you post what operating system(s) you are using then someone may be able to help.
Aspiring Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-02-2011
0

Re: BT Broadband Desktop Won't Open?

Oh cool!

 

Ok I'm operating on Windows XP Profesional Version 2002 Service Pack 3.

 

 

Guru
Posts: 4,570
Registered: ‎04-02-2010
0

Re: BT Broadband Desktop Won't Open?

Bin it.
AQ.
"Welcome to Royston Vasey - You'll never leave."

Aspiring Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-02-2011
0

Re: BT Broadband Desktop Won't Open?

Helpfull lol

Recognised Expert
Posts: 867
Registered: ‎04-02-2010
0

Re: BT Broadband Desktop Won't Open?

Here is the Microsoft article on file sharing for XP sp3

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/304040
Distinguished Guru
Posts: 7,684
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: BT Broadband Desktop Won't Open?

 


Jorfrey0989 wrote:

Im not to bothered about the Broadband Desktop tool not installing. 


You can, if you so wish, uninstall BTDH:smileyhappy: and then reinstall it:smileysad:...

 

Or just go so far to remove it:smileywink:...

 

 

Click start - All programs - BT Broadband Desktop Help - Uninstall (also look in add/remove programs)

Open task manager, check and if found:
remove BTHelpNotifier.exe
remove McciServiceHost.exe
remove McciTrayApp.exe
stop McciCMService.exe in services (control panel - Administrative Tools - Services)

In registry, delete the following (start - Run - Regedit)
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Motive
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Motive

Restart your PC - Stop here if you don't want to reinstall or download it again -

http://bt.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/12941/~/bt-broadband-desktop-help

 

FYI, if you do decide to keep it off your PC/Laptop you may want to read this?

(only if you don't reinstall!!:smileyindifferent:)

http://community.bt.com/t5/BB-in-Home/Broadband-Desktop-Help-automatic-data-collection/m-p/56566#M35...

-+-No longer a forum member-+-
Aspiring Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎14-02-2011
0

Re: BT Broadband Desktop Won't Open?

Cheers guys. sorted,