Reply
Aspiring Contributor
LTGoldman
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎14-09-2012
0
Accepted Solution

BT Broadband signal keeps dropping

Hello BT community,

 

I have BT Broadband and the signal keeps dropping.  For your information:

 

  • I am using a Draytek 2850N with firmware version:  3.6.2_2471201
  • I am not sure whether the line is ADSL or ADSL2+
  • The exchange is Chobham and has exchange code:  THCH
  • I am 1.2 miles from the exchange

The symptoms of the problem are simply that we loose the signal and cannot browse the web.  I have bought a brand new ADSL Filter and the router itself is brand new (replacing the BT Home Hub 1.x).

 

The strangest thing is that when the connection drops I can get it back by dialing out on our telephone which used the same line as the broadband and after a few seconds of listening to the time (I dialled 123) the router re-synch's if you leave the router to do this on it's own the connection does not reform; which I think is quite weird.

 

If you telnet onto the router and run log -wt I can see the following:

 

5:56:13.150 ISDN1<<<<PPPoE (WAN-1) Len = 45
    Protocol:CHAP(c223)
        Success Identifier:0x01CHAP authentication success, unit 29568 ##

.

.

 

5:56:13.200 ISDN1<<<<PPPoE (WAN-1) Len = 24
    Protocol:IPCP(8021)
        ConfNak Identifier:0x01
            IP Address: 86 143 121 235
            Primary Domain Name Server: 194 74 65 68
            Secondary Domain Name Server: 213 120 234 62 ## 

 

.

.

 

5:57:02.690 ISDN1>>>>PPPoE (WAN-1) Len = 10     Protocol:LCP(c021)         EchoRep Identifier:0x04Magic Number: 0x0 00 00 ##

5:57:09.580 DSL: LineFailure Update: DSL_G997_LINEFAILURE_LOSIPLM 5:57:09.620 DSL: NE Loss of Signal, rebooting DSL state machine 5:57:09.630 DSL: LineFailure Update: DSL_G997_LINEFAILURE_LOSIPLM 5:57:09.650 ISDN1>>>>PPPoE (WAN-1) Len = 6     Protocol:LCP(c021)         TermReq Identifier:0x02 ##

5:57:09.740 DSL: DSL Rebooting...IPLM 5:57:10.080 DSL: Modem Shut Down from ADSL Phy Layer (0) 5:57:27.830 ==>PPPoE (WAN-1) Len = 6 V:1 T:1 PADT ID:6

 

 

 

Can anyone tell me if this is BT's problem as I have replaced all of my kit.  Coult it be BT's NTE or even their network?

Sage
john46
Posts: 41,662
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: BT Broadband signal keeps dropping

Hi Welcome to the forums

Here is a basic guide to getting help from the community members done by CL Keith Please read through the link posted http://forumhelp.dyndns.info/speed/first_steps.html


Have you tried the quiet line test? - dial 17070 option 2 - should hear nothing - best done with a corded phone. if cordless phone you may hear a 'dull hum' which is normal

once you have posted the information asked for then the community members can help you more


Thank You


This is a customer to customer self help forum the only BT presence here are the forum moderators

If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Aspiring Contributor
davebb
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎22-08-2012
0

Re: BT Broadband signal keeps dropping

I am not a expert should it not be PPPoA ??

Sage
john46
Posts: 41,662
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: BT Broadband signal keeps dropping

yes it should be set to PPPoA
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Aspiring Contributor
LTGoldman
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎14-09-2012
0

Re: BT Broadband signal keeps dropping

router_stats.PNG

Aspiring Contributor
LTGoldman
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎14-09-2012
0

Re: BT Broadband signal keeps dropping

Image above is when connection is up....
Aspiring Contributor
LTGoldman
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎14-09-2012
0

Re: BT Broadband signal keeps dropping

wan_config.PNG

Sage
john46
Posts: 41,662
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: BT Broadband signal keeps dropping

[ Edited ]

try this link as well as it may also help you http://forumhelp.dyndns.info/speed/speed1.html

 

your line length is 2.2km from the exchange 

If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Aspiring Contributor
LTGoldman
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎14-09-2012
0

Re: BT Broadband signal keeps dropping

I have done the quiet line test and there is a slight hissing and crackling noise.  There is one master socket with a microfilter which goes out to the phone and router there are no other line extensions or phones.  The master socket is not one that has a test socket so cannot try using the alternate socket.

Sage
john46
Posts: 41,662
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: BT Broadband signal keeps dropping

you need to get the line noise fixed as that is affecting your broadband phone BT Faults on 151 and report the line noise but do not mention broadband in the call once the noise is resolved tnen your broadband will improve
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’