Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Beginner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2010
0

BT NetProtect Plus Problems

Just wondering if anyone has had problems with bt netprotect plus and found any solutions. I was a customer of McAfee for some years, I upgraded to BT Broadband Option 2 with bt netprotect plus provided by McAfee included, my original McAfee software was about to expire and I had followed the link to bt netprotect plus which appeared to download and install, during installation messages appeared telling me old files were being removed and updated, however, on the day my old McAfee expired a message appeared requesting payment to extend subscription, I contacted McAfee to inform them I was now with bt netprotect plus, I sign in under a different password to bt netprotect, however, it always defaults to my old account which is now expired with no software available, I contacted bt customer help, I was transferred to bt technical help who remotely took over 2 desktop computers in my home both have Window 7, the technician informed me bt netprotect plus was incompatible with windows 7, I did question so why are you installing software onto my computer which is incompatible, following the remote installation of bt netprotect plus, I tried to restart both computers to find I was unable to boot up both, the internal fans are running fast and loud, the DVD RW & DVD ROM drive light up, then that's it, the hardrive indicator light remain on, there is no signal to the pc monitor or any other devices (keyboard or mouse) I contacted bt for help, well they can't help me as I have nothing on my screen, I ask for help again today, it can't be the software, we're really sorry but can't offer any help, it is frustrating to have so much conflicting advice, customer service were helpful and understanding and gave me a number to contact bt technical help with the advice of asking for a supervisor, however, they are unable to offer any explanation as to why following remote access to my computers, and changing the system settings, I now have 2 computers that are now useless, the parting advice was to go to computer shop to have them repaired at my expense, the only computer working is my laptop, which was the first pc I was able to download bt netprotect plus to and is working okay, but I'm fearful that it will die to and I'll be left in the dark. I would be grateful if any other bt customers have had similar problems and found any solutions, I can't afford to right off hundreds of pounds worth of equipment, I wished I had never changed to option 2 and kept things as they were, I have never had any problems with BT, McAfee or my desktops prior to this incident.  Thanks

Moderator-Retired
Posts: 3,049
Registered: ‎28-01-2010
0

Re: BT NetProtect Plus Problems

Hi timarustu

 

I am really sorry your machines have stopped working.  I'll get this sorted.

 

Could you drop me your BT account and telephone number along with a link back to this thread in an email to the address in my profile please?

 

Cheers


Craig

BTCare Community Mod

If we have asked you to email us with your details, please make sure you are logged in to the forum, otherwise you will not be able to see our ‘Contact Us’ link within our profiles.

We are sorry but we are unable to deal with service/account queries via the private message(PM) function so please don't PM your account info, we need to deal with this via our email account :-)”
td-p/30">Ratings star on the left-hand side of the post.

If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
Beginner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2010
0

Re: BT NetProtect Plus Problems

Craig
Thank you I'll e-mail you with further information.
Beginner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2010
0

Re: BT NetProtect Plus Problems

Craig
Thank you for getting in contact with me on BT community forum, I've attached the letter I sent to BT complaint e-mail address, it catalogues the events, tonight 07/09/2010 I received a telephone call from BT technical help, the good news is I had both desktops looked at by an independant computer technician and have manage to get one of the desktops up and running with BT NetProtect Plus installed and working, unfortunately the other desktop is still not working but I was able to remove files, family photos's and video from the hardrive, but still down on one desktop, I have tried to explain to the BT technician who's advice was to take it to yet another PC repair shop, by the time I am finished I will have spent more than the cost of replacing the desktop, I only wanted to change from Option 1 to Option 2 and take advantage of BT NetProtect Plus to save money, not fork out hundreds on repairs or replacement. I have also tried Hewlett Packard, McAfee
and Computer Active for advice on how to restore my desktop and awaiting them getting back to me, McAfee contacted me and have removed my old account with them, BT technical help are more or less asking me to write off my other desktop because they cannot offer help for a PC that's not working, no screen, no help, no responsibility, no service, I'm no happy, try and put yourself in my shoes, would you be happy!!

Beginner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2010
0

Re: BT NetProtect Plus Problems

Hi Stuart,

Thanks for the e-mail. I am really sorry for the problems that you have had, quite a frustrating issue I fully appreciate.

I can see that there is an open complaint on your account in which a team is actively dealing with this case. As far as I can see the last note on the complaint is that you have agreed to bring the PC in question to a Vendor to have it checked. Is that correct?

I really don't think that this issue could have been caused by the action of the advisor who took remote access control of your PC. The actions the advisor took where all at software level but the problems that you describe indicate that the power was off on the PC and monitor when you returned. I am not aware of any changes anyone could make via your operating system that would cause you to lose power to the PC components.

As I say there is a team already dealing with this issue so there is not much we can do in the mean time as too many departments dealing with this could prove very confusing. I would however be very interested to learn of the outcome of this case.. If there is anything else that I can help you with please drop me a reply.

 

REPLY

Thank you for your reply, both desktop PC's had power, but were unable to boot up with no signals to peripheral devices (monitor, keyboard, mouse) if the problem was purely software, I can't understand why BT technical help did not ask the customer to download from McAfee site software removal tool before attempting to install BT NetProtect Plus, especially if the customer had been a previous customer of McAfee, maybe wise after the event, on the day the technician took control of my desktops, it was evident that system files were being accessed and deleted and following this both computers failed to restart as unable to boot up. I asked a local computer technician to look at both PC's and one is now up and running again with BT NetProtect Plus installed and working, the other desktop continues to fail to boot up, however, the technician accessed the hardrive to allow me to rescue files.
I have again spoke with BT technical help, I could accept if only one PC failed to boot, but both following intervention from BT technical help remote access is more than just coincidence, but I now understand, BT accepts no responsibility nor offers any solution, compensation for the loss of hundreds of pounds worth of equipment, a warning should be issued to customers that intervention made by BT technical help remote access may result in loss of functioning PC. The only advice available from BT is to continue presenting the non functioning destop to to a PC vendor for repair at my cost, like I said in previous e-mails I would rather replace the desktop as continual repair costs would exceed the cost of a replacement desktop and would resolve the problem at my cost and prevent any further frustration dealing with BT, happy to close the complaint now as unresolved.

Distinguished Guru
Posts: 7,684
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: BT NetProtect Plus Problems

[ Edited ]

I also had an issue when BT carried out a GTA session when I joined BT in feb09. Their overseas division also made a complete hash of installing BTNP on my PC. (They were accessing files that had no relevance and IIRC they deleted too many files). I was lucky to be able to restore mine to a good working PC though.

 

Has the PC technician mentioned anything about the possibility of trying to reset the BIOS?

 

The tech' could try this (it may not work and won't harm the PC in any way).

Simply unplug the PC from the mains, follow the safety procedures that he'll know about and remove the CMOS battery for 24 hours.

Then replace the battery, plug in to the mains and see if it now reboots.

-+-No longer a forum member-+-
Beginner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2010
0

Re: BT NetProtect Plus Problems

Thank you for the suggestion, I will try it and let you know, unfortunately BT technicians are unable or willing to assist customers who do not have a working PC, and my PC never gave me a days problem up until BT technicians took my desktop over and changed system files, it's a shame to loose my equipment, although I have resigned myself to the fact that I will have to replace it at my cost, but I have a duty to let other customers know that disaster is just around the corner with BT technical help, BT Broadband is good and reliable, the customer service when things go wrong is poor...always the customers fault..they tried to contact me 6 times on my home telephone was the opening remark obviously got me on the 7th call, not that it mattered could'nt offer any help or solution, only advice to continue presenting the desktop to a PC vendor for repair and ofcourse at my expense, frustrating and unhelpful so happy to close the case as unresolved but broadcast BT's failings.

Beginner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2010
0

Re: BT NetProtect Plus Problems

Tried replacing the CMOS battery...no luck still wont boot up...with no solution from British Telecom I just have to accept I've lost a desktop personal computer...never again once my 12 month contract is up I'm leaving BT, shame I've never had any problems up until BT got their hands on my PC...so I no longer recommend BT, infact encourage friends and family to move to another provider.

 

Thanks

Recognised Expert
Posts: 813
Registered: ‎01-02-2010
0

Re: BT NetProtect Plus Problems

 


timarustu wrote:

Tried replacing the CMOS battery...no luck still wont boot up...with no solution from British Telecom I just have to accept I've lost a desktop personal computer...never again once my 12 month contract is up I'm leaving BT, shame I've never had any problems up until BT got their hands on my PC...so I no longer recommend BT, infact encourage friends and family to move to another provider.

 

Thanks


 

Sometimes a Motherboard bios will revert to its defaults if you press (simultaneously) the INS & DEL keys as you switch on.

 

Or there is often a jumper close to the battery which needs shorting/moving position for about 10 seconds, this should only be performed whilst disconnected from the Power Socket.

 

If neither of the above options help try looking at the Motherboard Manual.

 (Try the manufacturers website if not available)

"I have this awful feeling someone is watching every move I make (one of my pet hates is router location tagging)." Marvin (A paranoid Android)
Beginner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-09-2010
0

Re: BT NetProtect Plus Problems

Thanks for your help Marvin, decided to write off the desktop PC, was never going to get anywhere with BT customer care judging by other customers comments, all down to experience now, but feel I need to tell as many people as possible my unacceptable experience, a simple upgrade from option 1 to option 2 has cost me hundreds of pounds and ofcourse the customer is locked into a minimal contract period, however, once free from BT plan to move to another more responsible telecommunications provider.
I would'nt worry about someone watching you they do nothing anyway.

Thank You