Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Beginner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎15-09-2010
0
Accepted Solution

Broadband drops, only comes up with restart

I am having continual intermittent broadband drop outs. Only a restart of the Hub will fix it.
After phoning support they suggest filter / internal line etc.
Just wondered if anyone had any knowledge..
I have also had one time where I couldn't even log on to the hub.
Time	Message
27/02/2012 20:49	LOGIN User tried to login on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.67)
27/02/2012 20:49	LOGIN User admin logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.67)
27/02/2012 20:48	xDSL linestate up (downstream: 3840 kbit/s, upstream: 448 kbit/s; output Power Down: 18.0 dBm, Up: 12.5 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 54.0 dB, Up: 31.5 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.5 dB, Up: 15.0 dB)
27/02/2012 20:48	LOGIN User Basic logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.67)
27/02/2012 20:48	xDSL linestate down
27/02/2012 20:48	LOGIN User admin logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.67)
27/02/2012 20:47	xDSL linestate down
27/02/2012 20:47	LOGIN User Basic logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.67)
27/02/2012 20:47	LOGIN User admin logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.67)
27/02/2012 20:46	LOGIN User Basic logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.67)
27/02/2012 20:46	LOGIN User admin logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.67)
27/02/2012 20:46	LOGIN User Basic logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.67)
27/02/2012 20:45	FIREWALL event (1 of 14): enabled rules
27/02/2012 20:45	PPP link down (Internet) [86.130.78.5]
27/02/2012 20:40	SNTP Synchronised to server: 213.123.26.170
27/02/2012 20:29	FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 4.69.151.178 Dst ip: 86.130.78.5 Type: Time Exceeded Code: Time to Live exceeded in Transit
27/02/2012 20:17	UPnP action 'DeletePortMapping' from ip=192.168.1.67 (Success)
27/02/2012 20:17	UPnP action 'AddPortMapping' from ip=192.168.1.67 (Success)
27/02/2012 20:17	UPnP action 'AddPortMapping' from ip=192.168.1.67 (Success)
27/02/2012 19:40	SNTP Synchronised again to server (213.123.20.170)
27/02/2012 18:40	SNTP Synchronised again to server (213.123.20.170)
27/02/2012 17:40	SNTP Synchronised again to server (213.123.20.170)
27/02/2012 16:40	SNTP Synchronised again to server (213.123.20.170)
27/02/2012 15:40	SNTP Synchronised to server: 213.123.20.170
27/02/2012 14:40	SNTP Synchronised to server: 213.123.26.170
27/02/2012 13:40	SNTP Synchronised to server: 213.123.20.170
27/02/2012 13:06	FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 66.252.0.201 Dst ip: 86.130.78.5 Type: Time Exceeded Code: Time to Live exceeded in Transit
27/02/2012 12:40	SNTP Synchronised again to server (213.123.26.170)
27/02/2012 11:40	SNTP Synchronised to server: 213.123.26.170
27/02/2012 10:40	SNTP Synchronised to server: 213.123.20.170
27/02/2012 09:47	FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 66.252.0.201 Dst ip: 86.130.78.5 Type: Time Exceeded Code: Time to Live exceeded in Transit
27/02/2012 09:40	SNTP Synchronised again to server (213.123.26.170)
27/02/2012 08:53	FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 98.126.20.164 Dst ip: 86.130.78.5 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
27/02/2012 08:40	SNTP Synchronised to server: 213.123.26.170
27/02/2012 07:40	SNTP Synchronised again to server (213.123.20.170)
27/02/2012 06:40	SNTP Synchronised again to server (213.123.20.170)

 

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 25,702
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: Broadband drops, only comes up with restart

Welcome to this customer to customer forum.

 

To enable forum members to help you, could you please read the web page that is shown below, which asks you to do a few checks first, and has some helpful hints.

Also, can you specify which home hub you are using.



When you have done that, please follow the instructions at the end, and post the results here, so members can offer advice. Thank you.

 

 

Speed and disconnections

There are some useful help pages here, for BT Broadband customers only, on my personal website.

BT Broadband customers - help with broadband, WiFi, networking, e-mail and phones.

Beginner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎15-09-2010
0

Re: Broadband drops, only comes up with restart

quite test - fine

speed test - errored

 

Hub - 1.5

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 25,702
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: Broadband drops, only comes up with restart

We need the full ADSL statistics as requested at the end of the document, otherwise the forum members will be unable to help.

 

There are some useful help pages here, for BT Broadband customers only, on my personal website.

BT Broadband customers - help with broadband, WiFi, networking, e-mail and phones.

Beginner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎15-09-2010
0

Re: Broadband drops, only comes up with restart

Uptime:	0 days, 22:53:03

Modulation:	G.992.1 annex A

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:	448 / 3,872

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]:	13.16 / 128.06

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:	12.5 / 18.0

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:	31.5 / 54.0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:	14.0 / 6.5

Vendor ID (Local/Remote):	TMMB / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):	0 / 0

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):	1 / 0

Loss of Power (Local/Remote):	0 / 0

Loss of Link (Remote):	0

Error Seconds (Local/Remote):	26 / 0

FEC Errors (Up/Down):	0 / 95,809

CRC Errors (Up/Down):	0 / 1,461

HEC Errors (Up/Down):	0 / 1,376

Line Profile:	Interleaved

 

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 25,702
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: Broadband drops, only comes up with restart

Are you connecting using wireless or Ethernet cable?

 

There are some useful help pages here, for BT Broadband customers only, on my personal website.

BT Broadband customers - help with broadband, WiFi, networking, e-mail and phones.

Beginner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎15-09-2010
0

Re: Broadband drops, only comes up with restart

wireless

Distinguished Sage
Posts: 25,702
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: Broadband drops, only comes up with restart


jellybabygm wrote:

wireless


Its quite probable that its the wireless that is causing the home hub to lock up, especially as I see you have some applications mapping ports via uPnP.

 

Can you try using a direct cable connection?

 

There are some useful help pages here, for BT Broadband customers only, on my personal website.

BT Broadband customers - help with broadband, WiFi, networking, e-mail and phones.

Beginner
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎15-09-2010
0

Re: Broadband drops, only comes up with restart

What apps would this likely be?
Distinguished Sage
Posts: 25,702
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: Broadband drops, only comes up with restart

Whatever this device is. If you do not know what it is, then disable uPnP on the home hub.

 

27/02/2012 20:17	UPnP action 'DeletePortMapping' from ip=192.168.1.67 (Success)
27/02/2012 20:17	UPnP action 'AddPortMapping' from ip=192.168.1.67 (Success)
27/02/2012 20:17	UPnP action 'AddPortMapping' from ip=192.168.1.67 (Success)
There are some useful help pages here, for BT Broadband customers only, on my personal website.

BT Broadband customers - help with broadband, WiFi, networking, e-mail and phones.