Reply
Sage
imjolly
Posts: 37,632
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: Disapointed with broadband upstream and downstream speed

if your exchange is 21CN enabled then you can try uk sales 08007830056 and as a new customer complain about being on adslmax when your exchange is 21CN enabled - why are you not on adsl2/2+?

 

if you get no help from sales then email the mods and see if they can get you sorted and on to adsl2/2+  http://bt.custhelp.com/app/contact_email/c/4951


mods can take upt o 3 days to reply to you


If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side of the post.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
Aspiring Contributor
loveviking
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-01-2012
0

Re: Disapointed with broadband upstream and downstream speed

Right, got telnet access enabled and issued

 

adsl info --stats and got....

 

~ # adsl info --stats
adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 1224 Kbps, Downstream rate = 10060 Kbps
Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8128 Kbps

Link Power State: L0
Mode: G.DMT
TPS-TC: ATM Mode
Trellis: ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 7.9 25.0
Attn(dB): 27.5 14.5
Pwr(dBm): 19.7 12.3
G.dmt framing
K: 255(0) 15
R: 20 16
S: 1.0000 8.0000
D: 64 4

 

As its reporting the Mode to be G.DTM this validate that I've got an ADSL Max connection on G.992.1 right?

Sage
imjolly
Posts: 37,632
Registered: ‎27-01-2010

Re: Disapointed with broadband upstream and downstream speed

yes and confirmed by speeds 8128/448

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side of the post.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
Sage
john46
Posts: 41,529
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: Disapointed with broadband upstream and downstream speed

Hi its a matter of following imjolly's advice and getting moved to adsl2+ try UK sales if no luck the contact the mods
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Aspiring Contributor
loveviking
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-01-2012
0

Re: Disapointed with broadband upstream and downstream speed

So after quite a long time on the phone I've managed to get my profile changed.

 

adsl info now :

 

adsl: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Last Retrain Reason: 8000
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 1208 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15448 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 1215 Kbps, Downstream rate = 13951 Kbps

Link Power State: L0
Mode: ADSL2+
TPS-TC: ATM Mode
Trellis: U:smileysurprised:N /D:smileysurprised:N
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 6.1 5.9
Attn(dB): 31.5 12.9
Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.5

 

However something odd seems to have happened with the noise / attenuation on the line.

Previously ::
SNR (dB): 7.9 25.0
Attn(dB): 27.5 14.5
Pwr(dBm): 19.7 12.3

 

Now ::
SNR (dB): 6.1 5.9
Attn(dB): 31.5 12.9
Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.5

 

I wouldn't have expected these to change significantly. Is this something to be concerned about? SNR has dropped and Attenuation has increased. The Power reporting as 0 is a little on the odd side also!

Sage
imjolly
Posts: 37,632
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: Disapointed with broadband upstream and downstream speed

stats looking ok and now adsl2+

 

noise margin is about normal of 6, attenuation normally increases by 2/3 db on 21CN and the 0 power is ok and a reporting fault

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side of the post.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
Sage
john46
Posts: 41,529
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: Disapointed with broadband upstream and downstream speed

hi no the snr is now at the default setting and it is normal for attenuation to increase by 2to 3 dB when going to adsl2+ power reporting is a software bug that pops up occasionally nothing to worry about just remember you are on a 10 day line training time again so leave the router with no manual restarts however you may get the odd disconnection while the line stabilises its best speed
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’