Beginner
punkmeets

HEC errors and disconnections

I've had BT broadband now for about 6 weeks and I've had nothing but problems. Mainly that it keeps disconnecting me at random intervals, sometimes hours apart, sometimes minutes. And the only thing I can see that could be causing it is the amount of HEC errors I'm getting. I've tried plugging directly into the test socket behind the facepanel and still get the same amount of errors, thus eliminating the internal wiring. I've changed the microfilter over 4 times and for sure I know 2 of the definitely work as I borrowed them from a friend and they are fine at his place.

Stats from the router since my last restart are below, nearly quarter of a million HEC errors in 22 minutes... Any help would be appreciated!

(Oh and the BT line test says the line is fine by the way, though I used to test RedCares for a living so I know exactly how reliable that thing is!)

ADSL line status
Connection Information
Line stateConnected
Connection time0 days, 00:22:04
Downstream13,782 Kbps
Upstream1,112 Kbps

ADSL Settings
VPI/VCI0/38
TypePPPoA
ModulationG.992.5 Annex A
Latency typeInterleaved
Noise margin (Down/Up)5.0 dB / 6.0 dB
Line attenuation (Down/Up)39.3 dB / 19.5 dB
Output power (Down/Up)20.2 dBm / 1.6 dBm
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote)0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote)0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote)0 / 0
FEC Errors (Down/Up)583 / 0
CRC Errors (Down/Up)9658 / 0
HEC Errors (Down/Up)715746 / 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote)

224 / 0

Sage
imjolly

Re: HEC errors and disconnections

for an attenuation of 39 you have a tremendous connection at 13782 as kitz shows 9568 on a good line!  it could be that your speed may drop a bit and your line become a bit more stable

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side of the post.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
Beginner
punkmeets