Reply
Aspiring Expert
planetf1
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎02-09-2010
0

Hub 3 .38 software update

According to

http://bt.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/32228/~/my-bt-home-hub-3-has-not-yet-received-the-lat...

 

the latest version of the HH FW is  4.7.5.1.83.8.48

 

However I am on .45, and the system has been powered on since last Tuesday (a week)

 

Normally it wouldn't bother me, but I've experienced 2 apparent crashes of the HH3 in the last 24 hours (looks like a complete reboot - ethernet and wifi connectivity lost, ssid disappears, returns after <2 min, no net connection, that returns another 30s or so later)

 

So there may be an instability bug here -- hence keen to ensure I'm running the latest firmware first before investigating further.

 

 

Aspiring Expert
planetf1
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎02-09-2010
0

Re: Hub 3 .38 software update

I noticed the hub rebooted again last night. The log isn't especially interesting just showing

 

06:48:15, 09 Feb.Host 00:0e:8e:24:c3:7b connected to SSID 'planetf1e' at 162 Mbps

06:48:12, 09 Feb.( 32.420000) Ethernet is down after 0 minutes uptime
06:48:09, 09 Feb.( 29.350000) Server URL: https://pbthdm.bt.motive.com; Connecting as user: ACS username
06:48:09, 09 Feb.( 29.060000) Initializing transaction for event code 1 BOOT
06:48:07, 09 Feb.( 27.290000) Ethernet is up
06:47:53, 09 Feb.( 13.170000) Booting firmware 4.7.5.1.83.8.45 (Type A)
06:03:46, 09 Feb.Host 00:0e:8e:24:c3:7b connected to SSID 'planetf1e' at 144 Mbps

05:58:45, 09 Feb.Host 00:0e:8e:24:c3:7b connected to SSID 'planetf1e' at 117 Mbps

05:53:43, 09 Feb.Host 00:0e:8e:24:c3:7b connected to SSID 'planetf1e' at 130 Mbps

05:48:45, 09 Feb.Host 00:0e:8e:24:c3:7b connected to SSID 'planetf1e' at 144 Mbps

05:47:40, 09 Feb.(82831.930000) Time synchronized with server 213.123.26.170
05:47:40, 09 Feb.(82831.910000) Requesting time from server 213.123.26.170
05:43:46, 09 Feb.Host 00:0e:8e:24:c3:7b connected to SSID 'planetf1e' at 117 Mbps

So why the reboot at 0648 -- this is a similar time to yesterday, but also around the time the first client would connect...

 

 

Aspiring Expert
planetf1
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎02-09-2010
0

Re: Hub 3 .38 software update

Interesting -- exactly the same today, making it, I think - 3 days on the run.

 

The "reboot" is happening around the same time each day -- so could be scheduled rather than a crash.

 

Anyone else seeing this?

Aspiring Expert
Paigntonian
Posts: 275
Registered: ‎10-11-2010
0

Re: Hub 3 .38 software update

Im on the same firmware as you mate.

Had the router running for 24hrs, and so far no problems.

 

Is there a way to do a forced update does anybody know?

------Marc------
Aspiring Expert
planetf1
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎02-09-2010
0

Re: Hub 3 .38 software update

I've had an email response from the forum mods and asked the same question - either "pull" by me or "push" from tech support

 

For the first few days I had no reboots. Then the last 3 days I have. One thought I had is that it was a failed update - but I think first step is to get to what BT document as the "current" firmware (unless that info is wrong), then worry about remaining problems.

 

Even with these issues it's a dream compared to the HH2...

Expert
infinidim
Posts: 458
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
0

Re: Hub 3 .38 software update

Does sound a bit like a failed update given that it is the same time each day.

Infinidim
Megadodo Publications
Ursa Minor Beta

If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side
If the the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Aspiring Expert
Raid1968
Posts: 250
Registered: ‎28-01-2010
0

Re: Hub 3 .38 software update

I'll need to go on and check mine also, I had been getting an intermittant issue were it would say an ethernet cable is unplugged (PS3) but would correct itself within seconds, annoying when it happens in the middle of a movie I'm streaming.

 

 

Raid

Aspiring Expert
Soulvache
Posts: 183
Registered: ‎12-11-2010
0

Re: Hub 3 .38 software update

Hi,

 

It may be something you have already tried, but have you performed a hard reset? Even if the sync drops on the hub, this won't necessarily force a firmware upgrade.

 

I've found that the firmware is only upgraded once a full reset is completed and before any synchronisation takes place.

 

Just an idea...

 

Kyle

=======================================
If you found my post helpful, please give Kudos on the left!
=======================================
Aspiring Expert
planetf1
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎02-09-2010
0

Re: Hub 3 .38 software update

Thanks. The mods have sent my question on to tech support, so will guess I'll see what they say now and not change anything for the mo.

Aspiring Expert
planetf1
Posts: 256
Registered: ‎02-09-2010
0

Re: Hub 3 .38 software update

Not certain if the hub booted again last night, but I think so:

 

06:49:15, 11 Feb.( 32.040000) Auto channel selection (reason 'Power up') is complete. Selected channel: 6, noise data: 1-(-114) 2-(-113) 3-(-112) 4-(-116) 5-(-113) 6-(-114) 7-(-111) 8-(-115) 9-(-115) 10-(-111) 11-(-120) 12-(-121) 13-(-121).

I can't be certain as I was up a little later, and the log is swamped by wireless log events (speed changes) - not that useful! So this is the earliest one I can reasonably see

 

Funnily enough this is the same time -- 06:49 again, or close enough...

 

still on .45

 

May wait to see if I hear back soon, otherwise as mentioned above it may be worth a hard reset (which shouldn't be needed of course)