Reply
RIB
Aspiring Contributor
RIB
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
0
Accepted Solution

Loss of Broadband, poor synch speed.

[ Edited ]

My BT broadband connection has for the last 3 months been giving me some major problems. The service has either being dropping the broadband synch completely or dropping the download speed to ridiculous levels (35 Kbps) making it impossible to use. In addition I have a crackling noise on my telephone, usually on incoming calls. The noise on the line is related to the Broadband signal because if I unplug the router the noise disappears. So far I have had two engineers to my house, tried 3 different routers, changes the filters. I am currently plugged into the master socket with the router through a line filter and just the hub phone connected. I have had my extensions disconnected from the master socket for the last two months.

The first engineer said the problem was my extension, so I got an engineer in to replace that, the broadband failed again so I tried the extension on a cable reel, made no difference. To prove the point I then plugged the router directly into the master socket which did not cure the problem.

I have been on to technical so many times I am sure they must know me by name. They now want me to take another day off work to let the engineer call "to check the line". I really don't see the point, the engineer turns up plugs all his equipment in to the socket tests the line, does some changes back at the exchange, system is working at the 5MB speed I know it can do for a short period then the first time I get incoming calls the line speed starts to drop again until we reach the I am sorry but this is worse than the old dial up system level.

I am seriously considering changing my provider from BT to Virgin because this is the only option for me that removes the two wires from my home. Anyone else had similar issues with the service.

Community Manager
SeanD
Posts: 1,993
Registered: ‎27-01-2010
0

Re: Loss of Broadband, poor synch speed.

Hi RIB,

 

Thanks for the post and welcome to the forum.  Sounds like you have had a bad time of it.  I can help.  Drop me an email to forum.moderation.team@bt.com, please include your BT account details and the link to this thread.  I will run a few checks from my end to see where we stand.

 

In the mean time, have you heard of or tried the broadband accelerator?  This item is designed to filter out any interference caused by your extension, I understand you have had an engineer sort this but it would do no harm to have an accelerator installed as well.

 

Take a look at this link BT Broadband Accelerator check to see if your master socket will support this product and if it does I would recommend placing an order as you will only need to pay the postage of £1.20.  

 

Cheers

Sean



BTCare Community Manager

If we have asked you to email us with your details, please make sure you are logged in to the forum, otherwise you will not be able to see our ‘Contact Us’ link within our profiles.

We are sorry that we are unable to deal with service/account queries via the private message(PM) function so please don't PM your account info, we need to deal with this via our email account :-)
Newbie
LittleRo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2010
0

Re: Loss of Broadband, poor synch speed.

I have a similar problem. I have the old white home hub. Speeds have been worsening over the last few months to a a level where they now so slow that I am desperately searching for ways to improve the bandwidth. Have also removed extensions, no longer use the hub phone, the home hub is plugged into an ADSL filter directly into the main BT socket. 

Yesterday the hub was unable to detect any wireless devices (2 laptops which we have been using for years) and the laptops were also unable to find the hub. (I was able to connect yesterday from an ancient XP desktop via USB cable but cannot install the drivers to do this on Vista laptops). Although nothing has changed from my end, we're connecting again wirelessly today but at poor speeds. I have been working my way through the hub channels with no significant difference in speed today - getting from 1.33 Mb/s - to a high spot of 3.83Mb/s.

RIB
Aspiring Contributor
RIB
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
0

Re: Loss of Broadband, poor synch speed.

Hi SeanD,

 

I already have an Openreach master socket so the filtration you speak of is already built into the socket.

 

I have an engineer calling tomorrow, that is providing that the request for him to call after 4.00pm is followed, will let you know how I get on.

RIB
Aspiring Contributor
RIB
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
0

Re: Loss of Broadband, poor synch speed.

OK, this is the follow up...

 

As mentioned in my post above I asked for an engineers visit after 4.00pm. I got the call from the engineer at 12.15pm and he arranged to call at 12.45pm.

 

I gave the engineer a quick history on what faults have been happening and he did a speed test on the line using his meter. Line tested at 6MB. He then tried to perform two other test's but the test system was not operational.

 

At the end of it all he said that the problem was more than likely on the Exchanges DSLAN equipment and he would go back and request a "Lift and Shift" (for all of you who are interested this apparently involves taking my two cables out and putting them into another connector). He would have to clear this with BT Wholesale first.

 

He was going to ring me back when he got back to the exchange circa 20 minutes. One hour later I decided to go back to work, while on the way back I received a call from an account manager in india who informed me the job was signed off and he wanted to arrange for an engineers visit. Correct me if I am wrong but did I not just have an engineers visit?

 

Anyway here's where whe stand, I informed the accont manager that if he was the account manager he was not doing a particularly good job and that according to the engineer the lift and shift happens at the exchange, not in my property and he therefore should not need me to take another day off work. I informed him that I was not prepared to take anymore time off work for this fault and that he needed to sort it out and call me back when it is sorted out. I believe the chances of this happening are slim.

 

They pretty much have 2 weeks to do what is required before I am on the phone to Virgin.

 

This is pretty much the sad sorry thing I have been going through since just before christmas and the only thing that surprises me is that BT have a score of 2.3 out of 5 on the think broadband site, I would of thought it was much lower than this.

Guru
RogerB
Posts: 4,076
Registered: ‎28-01-2010
0

Re: Loss of Broadband, poor synch speed.

[ Edited ]

Also, if I'm not mistaken, to add to your woes, you may need another visit, because if the Openreach engineer who visited you works to the same "standards and protocol" that the engineer who visited me worked with, and they do have strict ways of working...before BTw will authorise a lift and shift on a DSLAM, he is supposed to do a line pairs test from your property, which sounds like what he tried, and failed, to do.

(But don't shoot the messenger :smileywink: )

 

RIB
Aspiring Contributor
RIB
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
0

Re: Loss of Broadband, poor synch speed.

Hi Roger,

 

I am pretty certain you are correct. My issue with this is that the engineer had received a text message from his company explaining that the test facility was not available, so from what your saying why even bother asking me to come out of work so he could get into the property when he must of known that BT Wholesale would want those results. Crumbling network issues I think. It is probably just me but my local cabinet looks new and as vents, from what I can establish this is one of the new cabinets that are fibre optic equipped. Perhaps the problems are connected to this and they are going through a period teething trouble.

Guru
RogerB
Posts: 4,076
Registered: ‎28-01-2010
0

Re: Loss of Broadband, poor synch speed.

[ Edited ]

Well it's not possible to assume for definate....but I will say this.

Some time ago now I had a very similar issue to yours....and there were no shortage of visits, frames tests, pairs tests and every other conceivable test....and this is where I support BT Openreach.

The guys bent over backward to resolve my problem, and along the same lines, they had to escalate to the teams at BTw, no problem there. Then BTw took over and got a specialist team involved, with the renewal of line cards and intervention into the fibre backhaul system of our exchange, and in the end, it was happy ever after......

The point I'm trying to make here is....they won't give up on it, and neither should you, with BT or BTw, because it will get fixed, and also, these types of problems are fairly rare, but because of how the escalation process works between Openreach and BTw, even though they are both a BT company, they work solely autonemously and have their own accountability and protocols.

So what you find along the way, is a little bit of time is used, before conclusions result, but it will get done.

It's also worthy of note, that because BTw are regulated by Ofcom and have to act in a non-discriminatory way, (this is the main reason for the chinese wall syndrome between them and BT Openreach and BT Internet) they have to be sure that all testing and procedures are exhausted, before doing Network interventions, like the one to which you refer...

 

And btw the street cabinet to which you refer will be nothing to do with your problem, it's for pending 21cn networking, your problem if you are still on ADSL1 2-8megs adaptive broadband, is an exchange based dslam problem....which incidently maybe hasn't been given much attention (if this is the case, don't forget we're summising a lot here),...because of impending 21cn roll-out in your area?...in which case servicing a load of dslams would be fairly inefficient costwise. ( but again, we're making some big assumptions here..) nevertheless a possible scenario.

 

Hope this helps... 

RIB
Aspiring Contributor
RIB
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
0

Re: Loss of Broadband, poor synch speed.

The problem I have with all this is that this problem has already cost me close to £200 in addition to the broadband cost and everytime I take a day or half day off work that just adds to the bill. I am extremely busy at work at the moment and can not afford to take time off. I have requested that the engineers call at weekend but did not get very far with that. I then ask for the engineer to call after 4.00pm and he calls at 12.15pm. The fault is BT's wether that be BT Wholesale, BT Broadband or BT Opereach it is only my problem because I have to live with it.

 

Roger you have stated that they will fix it if I just stick with it, I work in the medical products and if I took more than 3 months to sort a problem I would not have a business. Just out of curiousity how long did you take to sort your similar problem?

 

Thanks for the feedback.

Guru
RogerB
Posts: 4,076
Registered: ‎28-01-2010
0

Re: Loss of Broadband, poor synch speed.

Well my problem was difficult to sort out, to be fair, and also there were bank holidays as well, but all in all about 3 weeks in total.

But it doesn't follow yours will....