Beginner
Toddy_blue

Networking via bt Home Hub 2.0

I'm a real novice at this...

I Have just upgraded to a BT Home Hub 2.0 and want to network 2 computers (both with Vista) via ethernet (not wireless) so they can share printers & external hard drive.

I have been on Bt Desktop help and gone to the Networking section. The one computer (Kids) finds the home hub, network usb hub (where printers are connected in) & network device (PS3 - wireless), but other computer (Dell) comes up with error page...where have I gone wrong?

Do I unplug it all and start again? Both computers are accessing the internet without a problem. Not sure if I should leave the network usb hub out for now and see if it'll work without....

Expert
chris6273

Re: Networking via bt Home Hub 2.0

Hi Toddy_blue,

The thing you should do first is uninstall the BT Desktop Help - it is not worth the effort because it doesn't really offer good advice.

To get your computers to share resources, go to Control Panel -> Network and Sharing Center -> Scroll down and look for the Network Discovery option and set it to allow. This should let the computers discover each other.

As for the Printers, if your computers don't detect them, try and install the drivers for the printers on each computer.

If you have any questions please post back :smileyhappy:

Hope this helps

Like this post? Give it a Star :smileyvery-happy:. If this post answers your question, please Mark it as the Accepted Solution.
Beginner
Toddy_blue

Hi again,

I'm using Vista :  -> Network and Sharing Center -> Scroll down and look for the Network Discovery option are not available? Told you I'm a novice....

I have:

View network & tasks 

Connect to a network

View Network Computers and devices

Add a device to the network

Set up File Sharing...

None of these have a 'network Discovery option'

Aspiring Expert
Redflake

Aspiring Contributor
aamin

when you install the printer there is an option to share it out