Reply
Sage
john46
Posts: 41,539
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: Speed Problems for Frank1216

as i added to my post the internet is there even if your pc is turned off it is there all the time the hub is on
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Contributor
frank1216
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎07-10-2011
0

Re: Speed Problems for Frank1216

Hello again john46.

 

Re: Speed Problems for Frank1216
yes that often happens there has been an internet disconnection but not a disconnection from the exchange equipment that would cause a restart and cause the time to reset
 
This is the crux of the problem, this is the basis for my complaints to BT.
It is the regular disconnections that is the problem.
As far as I can see the BT Homehub will not show a disconnection less than one minute, so we all think that every thing is OK when in fact it is not OK
Sage
john46
Posts: 41,539
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: Speed Problems for Frank1216

have you contacted the mods and explained that the hub does not disconnect but the internet session that drops it needs them not the help line
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Contributor
frank1216
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎07-10-2011
0

Re: Speed Problems for Frank1216

[ Edited ]

Hello john46.

 

I do not  contact the "help line"  they do not know what they are talking about, they only read from a script or reset your Hub and or connection. This only compounds the problem!!

I have been in contact with high level support and complaints.

Today I requested a "MAC" code so I could move to another ISP. The guy I spoke to asked why I wanted to move from BT so I told him of my ongoing problem with my connection, and speed problems.

He was able to access my upload and download data and he told me about my data usage, I was very very shocked, it appears that someone has been using my connection for downloads and uploads, he said that it was probably through the wireless connection. He said that my connection had uploaded over 10 Gig and downloaded almost 12 Gig!!!

I told him that I was using the highest security protocols on the Homehub. He intimated that they are not as secure as we would assume

If he can access my upload and download data why can't I.

In my home I have a Gas meter and a Electricity meter which I can look at and monitor, why wont BT give us the facility to monitor our uploads and downloads in real time not retrospectively??

 

By the way he is the first person in BT ho told me about this usage, why wasn't I told before. He said that because of the excessive usage my connection would be controlled

Sage
john46
Posts: 41,539
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: Speed Problems for Frank1216

Hi Frank

First the mods are not the help line they are a team of uk based BT specialists if I remember correctly it has been suggested that you should contact them earlier in the thread by one of us
As to security I agree nothing wireless is perfectly secure however the WPA2 encryption is currently the best available and is the standard used by all router manufactures if you want total security the best way is and always has been is a wired network also it is the fastestas well

As to usage there ae several ways you can monitor it retrospectively by using the Bt on line monitor that shows the combined up and down load figures or download one of the many download monitor programmes available on the Internet or of course you can see your usage on the home hub pages although that data only remains accurate until the hub is restarted then it returns to zero but you could check it when ever you wanted and just write down the usage

Depenadanton which broadband option you are on the reason youhave not been told is possibly because it is within your usage allowance eg option 2 has a 40 gb limit option 3 unlimited they have access for billing purposes eg excess usage charges on option 1& 2
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Contributor
frank1216
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎07-10-2011
0

Re: Speed Problems for Frank1216

Hello john46.

 

Yes i did contact the "MODS" very early on and I had more than one call from the UK based tech support and high level complaints dept. But yet the slow speed problem is still there.

I am on option 1 which allows me 10Gig and if I go over I have to pay extra, which is fair.

The guy I spoke to yesterday had all my usage for the past year and it averaged at 2.5Gig per month. Then suddenly in October it shot up to over 20Gig, 10Gig of which was uploads, surely this must have raised a red flag somewhere!, as i said yesterday it looks as though my connection had been hacked. But surely with this dramatic increase in usage BT should have contacted me to tell me what was going on.

Sage
john46
Posts: 41,539
Registered: ‎21-06-2010

Re: Speed Problems for Frank1216

Hi Frank Bt do notify excess usage it goes to your BT email address normally about the time that you reach 7gb 's of usage but no excess charge is made on the first month as they take it there was a one of spike in one month after that exceess usage charges apply

As to the mods i understand that now it was your references to the help line after i mentioned the mods that caused the confusion

I am sorry to see you moving to another isp I wish you luck with whoever you go to and you get the speed you are looking for sorry we here on the forum have not been able to help you more
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’
Contributor
frank1216
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎07-10-2011
0

Re: Speed Problems for Frank1216

Hello.

 

I would like to say a personal THANK YOU  to all the people for the help and suggestions during the last few weeks.

I have cancelled both phone and BB with BT and I am off to another ISP.

 

Will I be allowed to come back in and let you know how the transition went and if my service gets any faster?

 

Once again MANY THANKS

Sage
john46
Posts: 41,539
Registered: ‎21-06-2010
0

Re: Speed Problems for Frank1216

you certainly can come back but of course we will not be able to offer any help or advise regarding your new isp sorry to see you leaving
If you want to say thanks for a helpful answer,please click on the Ratings star on the left-hand side If the reply answers your question then please mark as ’Mark as Accepted Solution’