Aspiring Contributor
SomersetSarah

WiFi Disconnected Every Morning

I am new to this & have had BT broadband and hub for only 2 weeks.  All was fine until Thursday when the connection dropped, I got the orange light and had to reset the Hub as instructed by Desktop Help.  Now every morning I get up and though the Hub light is blue neither my Iphone, Laptop or Desktop can connect to internet pages or download emails etc despite all showing that they are connected to the internet.  Resetting the hub seems to do the trick each time but it is annoying.  Even the BT Desktop Help does not seem to be able to connect to the router to tell me what to do.  Can't put up with this in the long term.

Any ideas or do I need to call BT?

Aspiring Expert
CharlieF

Re: WiFi Disconnected Every Morning

Hello SomersetSarah

When the problem happens, see if you can browse to the Hub itself.

This is usually on http://192.168.1.254

This will tell us whether it is the broadband connection or the hub/home network.

I'm having similar issues, and your forum name implies you are in the same region of the UK as me.

Charlie

Expert
tommybobbins

Hello SomersetSarah,

Is it possible your hub is in power save mode? Wifi connections will be dropped in this state.

From the power save page:

Note: When your BT Home Hub is in Power Save mode, your Hub's Power light will glow orange. All other lights will be switched off.

Wake the Homehub up by resetting it if necessary, or do this via an ethernet cable plugged into the homehub. When all the lights are lit blue, then navigate to

htp://192.168.1.254

Click on A-Z in the top right.

Click on P, then Power Save.

Make sure that Power Save Mode enable is set to "No"

Click Apply.

Hopefully your Homehub will now keep a bright and healthy blue glow.

Aspiring Contributor
SomersetSarah

Thanks for that - have checked - it is not set to power saving mode and when not connecting, the blue lights are all on!