Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Beginner
Accepted Solution

connecting two computers via ethernet with the hub

At the moment we have one computer connected via ethernet to the hub but my husband would like his computer upstairs connected to the internet, this will be via ethernet cable(no wireless). Can anyone tell me how do I go about this, hubby says just plug in the cable, but I have a feeling it might need a little extra effort then that. Computer knowledge is all self taught, so please put info on layman terms. Will I need firewall,anti-virus running on both computers, even if they will be running of the same Hub.                                                  Also my son would like his XBOX360 connected  how do I do this.

Thanks in advance.

Expert

Re: connecting two computers via ethernet with the hub

[ Edited ]

Your husbands right

Just plug the cable in. (At least cat 5)

[edit]

You will need anti virus/Malware protection for ANY windows machine you connect to the net via hub or not.

An MSCE in computing is like having a McDonalds Certification in World Cuisine, pointless.
Aspiring Expert

Re: connecting two computers via Ethernet with the hub

The xbox 360 can connect via wireless with the xbox wireless network addon which can be bought for around £15 to £50 depending on the retailer you visit or Ethernet the same as any standard PC.

Recognised Expert

Outcast_Aussie wrote:

Your husbands right

Just plug the cable in. (At least cat 5)

[edit]

You will need anti virus/Malware protection for ANY windows machine you connect to the net via hub or not.

I think this sentence needs expanding. Smiley Wink

You will need anti virus/Malware protection for ANY windows or Linux or MAC etc etc machine you connect to the net via hub or not.

No Computer Operating System should connect to the Web or any other device unless properly protected. Smiley Indifferent