cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Stdomingo
Message 1 of 15

Cat5e extension

Hi there. I have a master socket in an upstairs bedroom. I want my router downstairs. Can I simply replace the current RJ11 to RJ45 cable that goes from master socket to router (it's a filtered faceplate) with a long RJ45 to RJ45 Cat5e cable.? Approx 15m
0 Ratings
14 REPLIES
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 15

Re: Cat5e extension

The modem cable from filtered face plate to router is rj11 both ends but you can run a longer rj11 cable

you can use the terminals inside filtered master and run a data extension cable to a new socket

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
Stdomingo
Message 3 of 15

Thanks for the reply. I realise my mistake. I have a long Cat5e cable RJ45 both ends. I also have one of these: 

RJ45 Gigabit Ethernet Extension Socket - Cat5e/Cat6 Tool-less IDC Terminals

So can I plug one end of the cable ( RJ45) into the VDSL socket on the faceplate and cut off the connector at the other end and attach it to the extension socket? And then use the current router cable from there?
Thanks

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 15

Just connect 1 pair of the CAT5 cable to the data extension terminals of the master and pins 2&5 of the extension socket. You will need to use a filter in the extension to convert from phone socket to RJ11. Alternatively, if you don't want telephony at the extension, just fit an RJ11 faceplate instead of extension phone faceplate and connect directly to that.

Please remove link to e-commerce site, it is against forum rules.

0 Ratings
Stdomingo
Message 5 of 15

Thank you liquorice. As you can tell I'm not knowledgeable on this. Can I ask a few follow up questions.