Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
shentonio
Contributor
Message 1 of 28

Changed router from BY Voyager 220v, now unable to connect

Go to solution

Hello all

My Mum has had BT Broadband using the old BT Voayager 220v router for many years, but it has recently packed in so I thought I would get the following ADSL router from Maplin as a replacement:

http://www.maplin.co.uk/4-port-adsl-modem-router-222202

My Mum's PC is very old, so I had to find a router that could connect via USB (her PC has no ethernet ports)!

Now I'm not an expert by any means, but I thought I would be able to set it up to replace the old router without any problems.

After installing the relevant USB driver software, the disk that came with the router says that the router should be configured to work with any ISP.

I have followed all the steps, and the light on the router says it is connected to the internet. Also, when I have checked the list of connections on the PC is shows the router is connected fine.

Unfortunately each time I try to connect to the internet I just get a DNS error  Smiley Sad

Am I missing something simple, or is this the wrong type of router for the job? I have tried setting up the router manually without any joy.

I have searched the forums for a solution without any joy, and any help that you guys can provide would be most helpful.

I don't have immediate access to my Mum's PC, so it might be a few days before I can post back with any findings.

Thanking you in advance.

Lee  Smiley Happy

0 Ratings
27 REPLIES 27
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 28

Re: Changed router from BY Voyager 220v, now unable to connect

Go to solution

You need to make sure that there is a login name and password entered in somewhere, probably in the connection setup.

Use Login name     broadbanduser@btbroadband.com

Password  BT

Without that, you will not get Internet access.

0 Ratings
shentonio
Contributor
Message 3 of 28

Go to solution