cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 8

Connection keeps dropping out. What faceplate have I got?

Hello all,

My internet connection keeps dropping out. I have tried two routers, three filters (one brand new) and two RJ11 cables.

IMG_20170430_153910.jpg

What happens is: all of a sudden the DSL and Internet light will go out and I'll loose my connection. Then the DSL light will flash, then go off, then flash, then come solid, and then the Internet light will come on; at this point I'll have a connection again.

It seems random how long the connection will last for before the connection drops out again, but it rarely goes 30 minutes without a dropout.

Its just one computer connected via an Ethernet cable to the router, and then a couple of wireless devices.

I dont have the regular NTE5 Master Socket with a split plate, I have a double socket master socket. I've taken the socket apart and there are no extensions running from the socket I'm using.

Capture.jpg

Into the filter is also plugged a phone; I've removed this phone and the dropouts still occur.

I have used 'Net Uptime Monitor' which give an audible alert when the connection drops out, so I'm alerted everytime a dropout occurs.

The line from outside terminates in a box outside, and then a small length of wire runs to the socket inside. I presume BT's jurisdiction ends at the socket inside my house, not to the termination point on the outside of the house?

Capture2.JPG

I think I've done everything to discount anything that is my jurisdtiction being my fault. Is there anything else I can do?

I'm trying to discount everything, to minimise the chances of being charge by BT!

I have spoken with BT Faults who have advised me that they can detect no faults on the line.

0 Ratings
7 REPLIES 7
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 8

Re: Connection keeps dropping out. What faceplate have I got?