Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
clbone
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 53

Constant disconnection, triggered by uploads

We've been having constant issues since joining back with BT around a year ago. The download speed is actually pretty fast when connected, but the problem is that it's constantly coming to a hault on all devices multiple times a day and has become unusable in the last few months. We've tried everything, including switching to a new router that can handle more devices, but we still have issues. I've noticed that it seems to be linked to uploading, not even particularly large files, but it causes the whole internet to dropout, showing limited internet on our devices, but still appearing as connected on the router.

As I'm a web developer it's making it impossible to work, I've had to use mobile data for testing web sites and apps and they're not even very intensive sites. I can consistently bring the internet down for everyone, just by trying to access an app and it's because it requires sending data over the internet, i.e uploading. I don't expect the upload speed to be super fast here, but I don't expect it to bring down the whole connection.

We've just today had an engineer around who tweaked our download SNR as the line was too fast but it's not resolved the issue. I was able to show him how it just haults when I try to access my web application (just a simple Shopify admin app). I tried turning on QoS on the TP Link router we had, it made it slightly more stable if I limited uploads to stupidly low (200Kbps) but didn't fix it completely. It does this on both a wired and wireless connection. 

Doing a speed test shows that our upload bufferbloat is huge (over 3 seconds) and marked as a fail, but our download is pretty stable:

http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/45897092

We've switched back to the BT Smart Hub just so that testing can be done on your end. Here are the current stats: