cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
toonlass
Contributor
Message 1 of 68

Help! Really stuck as to what is causing drop in speeds...

Go to solution

Hello, 

I would really appreciate some help with our broadband - I have basic IT knowledge but have run out of ideas and am going in circles with BT phone/chat support.

I am posting as we have an ongoing issue with our broadband speed. Some background- we have been with BT at our rural house since 2012 (they are only option as ISP). Our exchange (Bethersden cabinet 2) is not being upgraded to fibre/we are too far away anyway so we are getting started on a community funding programme for FTTP to 15houses.

In the mean time according to dslchecker we have a downstream line rate of 1.5mbps (fixed 2) and downstream range 1-2.5mbps.

We accept that living rurally our broadband will be an issue and over the past 5years we have had at best 3.8mbps (very happy as I realise this is decent for our cabinet).  We have used a HH3 most this time and had 2 replacements due to issues not resolved by other checks.

November last year a new issue arose - broadband speeds would be 2.8mbps one day and then 0.5mbps at best for a couple of days before resolving itself again with no changes our end. I used to reset the router to help but following advice with BT have avoided doing this to try and avoid any 'fault on the line' messages. In this same call just before Christmas BT reset my connection to the exchange and all was good with the best speeds we have had in a long while (3.8mbps).  But then every few days it drops to 0.5 or even less and we can't even load websites or listen to radio online let alone stream any FB/movies. 

Setup is

Netgear router D6200 (though same issues occurred with HH3 we switched to a netgear hoping it would help)

Connected to phone socket in hallway which has cable upto master socket with front plate - socket in lower half.