cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Message 1 of 7

No broadband despite multiple engineers

Myself and some of my neighbours have been without broadband for around 2.5 weeks. I've had an engineer out twice who has tested everything in my flat and says nothing seems to be wrong and my neighbour has had his line replaced but it still doesn't work!

The engineers have suggested it is an issue between the box and the exchange however bt keep sending engineers to my flat and there seems to be no communication between visits. I'm a teacher and can't take days off but it seems like I shouldn't need to be in every time if there is an outside fault?

I don't know who to turn to as bt are just doing the same thing over and over again which isn't working and don't seem to be passing on what has happened in past visits.

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted
Recognised Expert
Message 2 of 7

Re: No broadband despite multiple engineers

Are BT Consumer your service provider ?
It’s unlikely that any engineer visit you had was a ‘BT’ engineer, given that it’s Openreach that maintain the network.
What sort of BT broadband do you have , ADSL or ‘fibre’ (VDSL/FTTC) ?....is your phone line working just no broadband  ?.

It seems strange to me  that an engineer visited and said nothing wrong, was the broadband working then ?, if it wasn’t why didn’t you challenge the ‘nothing wrong’ if your broadband  obviously wasn't working, what was your response when they engineer said that ?,

If the engineer stated there wasn’t anything wrong with the ‘line’ but accepted that the broadband wasn’t working, was the fault reallocated to a more senior ‘broadband’ engineer ? 

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Message 3 of 7

I don't have fibre. The engineer said everything seemed fine but did acknowledge the broadband didn't work. When he came back the next day, he seemed to do work at the exchange and closed the case.