Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cnbs38
Beginner
Message 1 of 6

Slow speeds at peak times

Hi 

My broadband speed is 6.7 Mb /s on 8M line in the early mornings GREAT

But it falls to less that 2MB in the evening. 

I have called the Customer Services three times,

1) on the first occasionan the person spend nearly two hours doing tests and seemed obsessed with asking me if I was connected with  wired or woireless connection and how many devices were connected.

The answer was the same as in the morning when it was 6.7M.

She forced me to disconnect everything and connect one machine with a cable.  IT MADE NOT ONE JOT OF DIFFERENCE

She then kept changing wireless channels as if this would make any difference.

Finally she gave up and said that it wuold be escalaetd and someone would call me in 48 hours. They didn't.

By the way I am a customer not a technician, why does it cost me two hours of my time because BT's system is poor?

2) I call after a few days and spent ages on the phone. She said that they had to run tests when it was slow. I told them they had done this on Sunday.

The person said that it had been clear so no one had called me, how and I meant to know this?.  Finally she arranged that a person from the next team would call me at 8pm on Thursday. I waited patiently no one called.

3) I called BT and was told you have to wait 48 hours. The person then wanted to start all over again and kept asking if my connection was wireless. I told him that a wireless connection worked fine early in the morning.

His implication was that the slow down was called between my router and laptop and that this varied with peak hours.

Nonsense, the problem is due to the speed into the house

My feeling is either

1) that my exchange does not have the capacity to deliver to all of the people in my area, in which case they should not be charging them all £20/month for 8M broadband

2) Or my connection is a bit faulty