Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Sspontaneous
Beginner
Message 1 of 30

Terrible BT broadband speed problems since November

Hi there

Absolutely fed up with broadband dropuot and speed issues..
Live in a village a couple miles from the Sharnbrook Bedfordshire exchange...uptil November 2010 there
was a stable-ish line running about 1.5 megs, since then the loss of speed issues has been excasperating to say the least..Hours and hours on the phone to India, they work from a script which is infuriatingly repetitous,
 I explain everytime that I run on an ethernet connection going straight into an Openworld (master) connection on the wall - with no extensions. I am not an expert on adsl issues - I just want the internet to work at a reasonable speed. But it seems BT have been less than honest when it comes to supplying Rural Communities. I will post my speed & home hub details below.....Yes suprise! I have noise on the line!
 In my village the power & telecom wires are supplied via the same telegraph poles, when farmer blogs up the road turns on his milking machines or whatever, guess what! the power surge trips my (& perhaps others too!) Hub! The resulting moronic adaptive profiling software, knocks down the profile, thus dropping my speed! Then it takes a phonecall to india & perhaps more than a week before any improvement, its a nightmare!
 Why have BT rolled out this adaptive system to place's that are vunerable to such power surges?
The old sytem actually worked better & BT could argue that they did a good job supplying the Rural Communities

Now, we felt very let down by this...

Is there anything at all that can be done about this?   the most we get if lucky is maybe a week running at the glorious speed of 1 meg before the speed drops like a stone & I have to go thru the endless repetitous motions of phoning india to 'up my profile' again?