cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 2 of 12

Universal Service Obligation not fulfilled.

My broadband speed is not up to the Universal Service Obligation (USO) minimum standard of a least a sync speed of 10 Mbps download and 1 Mbps upload.

I am on an Exchange Only (EO) line and it can easily be rerouted for Fibre To The Cabinet (FTTC) through PCP-3 (aka Green Box) from Fyvie MDF (Exchange) in the North East of Scotland. Why has this not been done?

The E and D sides for PCP-3 are routed through the JF6 (footpath underground lid) on the opposite side of the road to DP-16 (Distribution Pole #16) at the start of Woodhead of Fyvie. Both E & D tie-ins are 180m long from PCP-3 to the in-line clippy (underground joint) inside the JF6. My line is also routed through the same JF6 in another in-line clippy. There is an interlink cable between the two clippys.

I am an ex-Openreach Broadband Engineer and I have previously done this to numerous customers in Woodhead of Fyvie. This is the easiest, fastest and cheapest way for Openreach to achieve this as the infrastructure is already in place. There are numerous broadband ports in PCP-3 by BT and other Communications Providers (CP’s), if BT have none spare.

Also, a Fibre To The Premises (FTTP) (aka. Full fibre) Fibre Node has been fitted to my DP-122 outside my house, but the Containerised Block Terminal (CBT) has not been fitted to the Fibre Node by K&N contractors. FTTP is active in Woodhead of Fyvie 892m down the road. Why as the work not been completed?

0 Ratings
11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12

Universal Service Obligation not fulfilled.

My broadband speed is not up to the Universal Service Obligation (USO) minimum standard of a least a sync speed of 10 Mbps download and 1 Mbps upload.