Did you mean: 
Highlighted
ErikaPrice
Beginner
Message 1 of 23

Urgent Advice Needed Re Slow BB Speeds & Intermittent BB Downtime

Go to solution

I'm in urgent need of advice please re my intermittent broadband problems

For the past week now I've been getting very slow speeds and occasionally the broadband disappears altogether. When it disappears, my phone line goes out too, so I'm convinced it's a problem with the BT line.

When I first contacted BT they did a line test and confirmed there was a problem with the line. After an hour and a half on the phone to them (on another phone line), both phone and broadband started working again - intermittently. BT now say that the problem is with my internal wiring. I'm getting increasingly frustrated, especially with the BT call centre getting me to repeat the same checklist tests, router resets, etc. As an ex-telecoms project manager I'm not entirely a novice user, and desperately want to get this resolved but don't know how to break through the BT call centre barrier.

My NETGear Wireless-N stats show the following:

ADSL LinkDownstreamUpstream
Connection Speed896 kbps96 kbps
Line Attenuation53.0 db31.5 db
Noise Margin10.6 db7.0 db

The speed also looks somewhat lower than the line speeds I should be getting (table below is from BTs ADSL Checker):

ADSL MaxUp to 5--3.5 to 7.5Available
Fixed Rate2 ----Available

Can anyone offer any suggestions at all please?

Many thanks in advance,

Erika

0 Ratings
22 REPLIES 22
MrTUK
Aspiring Contributor
Message 2 of 23

Re: Urgent Advice Needed Re Slow BB Speeds & Intermittent BB Downtime

Go to solution

Have you tried the quite line test i think it 17070 and option 2 from master socket, if you hear noise i would report phone fault.

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 3 of 23

Go to solution

can you connect to the test socket and repost your stats as this will eliminate any problems caused by your internal wiring