Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
m1geo
Beginner
Message 1 of 8

Variable Internet - 2 months later - 3 engineers - new router - new wiring

Go to solution

Hello all. First post, so please be kind.

I'm a technical person, but I don't know the intricacies of how the Internet works!

So, here's the story. 2 months ago, our broadband service went unstable. We used get approx 5 Mbps ADSL. However, since the speed became variable, we often find ourselves with speeds of 50 kbps! All the while, the connection never drops, and the router sync speed remains constant. I have found it almost impossible to get this through to BT Engineers/Call-centre staff. I started graphing the Download, Upload and Ping, to see if I could find any trends (I'm a scientist, after all).

In total, we've had 3 engineers visit us from Openreach, all of whom conclude the line is okay, which I don't doubt, given the first engineer installed a new drop-wire and refitted the SSPE to have an ADSL filter built in. The second and third engineers seemed to contradict each other. The second said it was an exchange backhaul fault. The third said that was highly unlikely. We've had a new HomeHub 5 posted out, that never changed anything either. The last engineer visit was last Friday afternoon (see the the 1 week graph). Nothing has made any difference!

Here's a few graphs of the problem, showing this is a proper issue.

Last 3 hours

Last 24 hours

Last Week

I have weeks of data showing the same thing. Aside from these test results (from a quick program I wrote to periodically test the internet), I get errors when I am surfing the internet, and iPlayer fails to work regularly (even on SD programs).

If I turn to the BT HomeHub 5, the connection is stable and the line-sync-speed is constant. It's been connected for the last 23 hours (I rebooted the router last night in an attempt to encourage some faster internet to check emails, etc)...

1.	Product Name:	HomeHub5