cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 1 of 29

Advice Please on Cabinet Change Timing

Hi - I'm a newbie and not a techie. Grateful for some advice.

I upgraded my ordinary broadband to fibre. Speed went down.

After many conversations BT Tech/Engineer now tell me that:

a. My phone line copper is connected to Glastonbury PCP-16 (100 yards away) which is a new fibre-enabled cabinet.

b. My broadband is connected to Glastonbury PCP-2 (mile and a half away).

They say that OpenReach will transfer my broadband from PCP-2 to PCP-16 but this will mean that I lose broadband for up to 7 days. And that we will arrange a date after Chriistmas.

Two questions:

1. I have been jerked around so much over this issue (10 phone calls...) - does what they say sound reasonable?

2. We run a couple of small home-based businesses that use the broadband a lot. We could go elsewhere for those 7 days. But does OpenReach actually need all that time?

All wisdom gratefully received.

Thanks - William

0 Ratings
28 REPLIES 28
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 29

Re: Advice Please on Cabinet Change Timing

Welcome to this user forum.

Who told you Openreach are going to change your route, its not normally possible?

See

https://www.homeandwork.openreach.co.uk/help-and-support/when-can-i-get-fibre.aspx

"There is another cabinet nearby that is already accepting orders accepting orders, can I get fibre broadband from there instead? 

No, the network over which fibre broadband is provided is bespoke, and all premises are served from dedicated fixed distribution points. Many lines are connected via their own overhead or underground link to a nearby green telephony cabinet. There are no interconnections that could be used to move a line from one cabinet to another."

In order to find out what services and speed range you could be getting, please enter your phone number into this form.