cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
DavidM
Message 21 of 34

Re: BT Broadband usage scam??

Hi beenrippedoff,

Thanks for posting. I can look into this for you. Drop me an email with the details. You'll find the "contact us" form in the about me section of my profile. Once I have the details we'll take it from there.

Cheers

David

0 Ratings
beenrippedoff
Aspiring Contributor
Message 22 of 34

ombudsman decision

After my ongoing complaint about the outrageous usage claims by BT I escalated my complaint to the ombudsman. I can now reveal they upheld my complaint on the grounds; BT claimed the excess usage is due to all infinity downloads being in HD by default. BT failed to inform me of this and only pointed out the benefits. BT now have to refund l excess charges. Anyone else in this situation should coming to the ombudsman.
0 Ratings
almcwho
Aspiring Contributor
Message 23 of 34

Re: ombudsman decision

Hi All,

I'm a tech savvy user that has been strongly critical of BT in another  usage monitor thread.  I have to admit to 'revising my opinion' (aka 'being wrong') having discussed with a highly technical chap in BT (I'll call him Bob, not his real name).

It turns out that my TV is at fault for a *stupidly* high amount of downloads, and my network monitoring solution through a raspberry pi was inadequate (it didn't log all the data). We are talking about 10 times the amount of expected data!

My TV is an LG 32LD790-ZA running firmware version 3.20.89.  It seems that this is trying to download the same data multiple times when streaming from BBC Iplayer (perhaps other services, but I don't use anything else at the moment).

I haven't yet approached LG, but I noticed a new version of the firmware on their website that may fix the problem.