Hi, quick query about how cloud storage is supposed to work. When I amend files or create new ones on my PC the corresponding files on my BT cloud website update no problem.
If I delete a file on my PC ( for example an excel file in my documents) it remains in "my documents" on the website and doesn't move to deleted items unless I log in and do it manually. I know you have to manually empty the trash to get rid of it completely but how does it get in there in the first place.
It looks like on a Windows PC, if you delete a file that's in one of the folders marked for 'Backup' then the deletion isn't automatically synced to BT Cloud. This doesn't really cause me a problem, as I have 500GB of free storage and I can see the use in having backups of my old files (they can be manually deleted using the web interface).
I have noticed that the 'BT Cloud' folder on my PC does sync deletions across (so if I add a file to the BT Cloud folder and then delete it, it will automatically move to 'Deleted Items' on the web interface). I therefore keep a small number of files that I work with and then delete reguarlly in a subfolder within the main BT Cloud folder.
Confusingly - on a Mac it seems like all backed up folders work like the 'BT Cloud' folder on Windows PCs (so if on my Mac I delete something from the 'Documents' folder then the deletion is automatically applied to BT Cloud).