I have just registered for BT Fon so that I can find and use hotspots easier on my iPhone. However, in the 'standard' e-mail response acknowledging my BT Fon registration, part of the message said 'But don't forget to leave your BT Home Hub switched on for the next few days, so we can add you to the network.
Does this mean my Home Hub 3 becomes something that everyone can use?
Apologies if this is a stupid question but someone has to ask them.........
It means that other subscribers to BT FON can connect to a signal broadcast by your Hub but they cannot see your network or devices. However do not expect all subscribers to keep their signal on all the time. BT have provided a power saving function allowing Hubs to be powered down when the owners are not using it meaning that it is not available to the BT FON network. Similarly if the choose to use a diffrent router it is likely that the BT FON signal will not be broadcast.