cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Neal1971
Contributor
Message 1 of 16

BT Smart Hub DHCP Server

Why is the DHCP Server on the BT Smart Hub so useless?

In this day and age you sould be able to assign a specific IP address to a MAC address before you connect it.

And before anyone goes on about setting each device I have statically...I have over 20 devices that need connecting to the device...and its a complete pain having to go to each device to set the IP...and some of my devices need to be given the same IP addrress (printers, NAS devices, etc.)

Come on BT, when will you learn that some of us are tech savvy (Im a Software Engineer and IT Manager) and would like to configure the Home hubs to suit our needs not yours.

0 Ratings
15 REPLIES 15
Checked2013
Expert
Message 2 of 16

Re: BT Smart Hub DHCP Server

@Neal1971 wrote:

Why is the DHCP Server on the BT Smart Hub so useless?

In this day and age you sould be able to assign a specific IP address to a MAC address before you connect it.

And before anyone goes on about setting each device I have statically...I have over 20 devices that need connecting to the device...and its a complete pain having to go to each device to set the IP...and some of my devices need to be given the same IP addrress (printers, NAS devices, etc.)

Come on BT, when will you learn that some of us are tech savvy (Im a Software Engineer and IT Manager) and would like to configure the Home hubs to suit our needs not yours.

you can't and shoudn't have more than one device using the same IP address

0 Ratings
Neal1971
Contributor
Message 3 of 16

Im not...you havent read the post correctly.

0 Ratings
gg30340
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 16