Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
GillyFB
Aspiring Expert
Message 1 of 8

Broadband keeps dropping - been in contact with BT since mid June 2016

Any thoughts would be appreciated and I am not technical so will try best -

1. Only myself using Laptop and have copper wire broadband and am used to slow speed.  That is what we have in village so I accept that.

2. So used to slow but since mid June - broadband will stop!  I can be online for about 30 mins and then slow to stop.  Re-start and will be OK again sometimes.  Why?

3. BT have been and changed 35 year old master socket, detected small fault on line and changed over to a spare line.

4. Still same problem and they sent out a new Hub3.  I reported same issues and out came - another - Open Reach engineer who said I do not need a filter on my phone line in kitchen =- so took that off.  (Made no difference.)

5. Both engineers said it would be a broadband engineer to check line.

6. Phoned BT again and tried to be helpful and said if when my connecion stops and all lights are on the problem is within the house.  She said it was an environemental problem.  I said I found that difficult to accept as nothing has changed in my home.  (TV the same, no other appliances, etc, etc - same curtains!!!

She said I could purchase a Hub4 - I said I didn't want to pay for anything - if nothing had changed why wasn't my broadband.  I said it is doing it ALL the time I use the laptop and in the end it makes me feel like forgetting broadband BUT I know if Have had it for years!  (My son came with his laptop - just in case it was mine and we had them both on. His stopped at the same time as mine.)

7. So yesterday she agreed to send me out a HUB4 for free but that is all they can do to help.

So I just wondered if anyone else had this type of issue and solved it.  I do not undertsand why I can re-start and it will be back up and running for awhile.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.