cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Grrrrr
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 18

Broadband speed dropped to one third of what it used to be - customer service no help

I work at home and have done for many years.  The BT Exchange is literally at the bottom of the road and I'm lucky to get 20mbit sync and 10ms ping for years.  Recently (last few weeks) my broadband has been disconnecting like crazy (every few minutes some days) and my speed has gone from 20 to 8, and my ping from 10 up to 40-60.

This has rendered my IP phone useless and downloads 3 times slower, if they complete at all (I am an software developer and religiously download chunky ISOs from work every day).  I can no longer work properly.  I've rung BT customer services three times and they are not getting me anywhere apart from more and more frustrated.

Steps I have taken so far:

Replaced filter with new one from BT (tried several actually).

Replaced ADSL cable from socket to modem.

Tried two other (non BT) modems.

Disconnected my home phones by removing from part of master socket for weeks to eliminate local extension noise

Sat and listened to Quiet Line upteem times, no noise.

Moved other electrical devices near my phone cables and modem away as far as possible.

Bear in mind, as far as I'm concerned I have changed nothing and for years had a stable 20meg/10ms connection.  EE and Vodafone/Demon used to have this line and it was also fine then.  In addition, there was an Openreach engineer two doors away and the ground literally dug up - it may be coincidence, my wife doesn't think so...