cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mthird3rd
Message 1 of 4

Confused by increase in Monthly Direct Debits

Hi all.

Being a newbie, I'm sure this topic must have been raised in the past.

As a new BT customer, I was paying Monthly Direct Debits of £23.50 to cover my contract for Unlimited Evening and Weekend Plan plus BT Total Broadband Option 1.

After 6 months, I have just received a bill advising me that my Direct Debits would increase to £38.00 per month (a rise of 62%!).

Having been unable to get through to an advisor on the phone, I thought I'd do a little research on the web.  I found the BT Help topic "Why has my Monthly Payment Plan amount changed?", which lays out the way the bill is calculated:

Monthly Rental Charges + Last quarter usage divided by 3 + Outstanding charges divided by 6 = Monthly Payment.

In my case, this would be: £23.43 + £3.51/3 + £5.44/6 = £25.51 per month.

Therefore, I'm a little confused, not to mention rather annoyed that my Direct Debits have been increased to £38.00pm, when £26.00pm would seem more reasonable!

Any help would be appreciated.

Martin

0 Ratings
3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4

Re: Confused by increase in Monthly Direct Debits

Hi Mthird3rd,

Thanks for posting. I can check what's going on for you. Drop me an email to the address in my profile. Include a your account details and a link to this thread and we'll take it from there.

Cheers

David

Community ModeratorDaveM
Did you get the help you needed?
Help others by clicking on ‘Mark as accepted solution’
Show your appreciation!
Click on the star next to a reply to say thanks
Help guide to using the community? Click below
Kudos”