Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 1 of 30

Connecting an extension socket to the master socket

Go to solution

Can anyone tell me the correct wiring to add an extension socket?  I have a single master socket which has just been connected to broadband.  I've run a wire from the back of this socket to a new socket elsewhere in the house.  I connected pin A at the master to pin 5 at the extension and pin B at the master to pin 2 at the extension.  There are also 2 wires connected to a terminal E which I have not connected at the extension(possibly pin 3) but this makes no difference.  A telephone works fine in the extension but the BTHub4 flashes orange permanently after boot.

Any advice would be welcome.

0 Ratings
29 REPLIES 29
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 30

Re: Connecting an extension socket to the master socket

Go to solution

your extension socket should be wired to the back of the detachable master faceplate to terminals 2&5.  you should not star wire to the incoming BT wires as that will have adverse affect on your broadband  test socket.jpg

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 3 of 30

Go to solution
Will try that tomorrow. I did an electrical test between B - 2 & A -5 on the master(test) and there is 0 ohms resistance. What's the difference with the detachable plate?
0 Ratings
Highlighted
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 30

Go to solution