cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Frustratednoob
Beginner
Message 1 of 9

Connection lost whenever Ethernet cable plugged in from youview

Hi, I am new to BT infinity and have been trying to set it up but am encountering a major fault.

Essentially I can connect the hub and get broadband internet, however this completely disconnects when I connect the Ethernet cable from the youview box to the hub and it won't reconnect to the Internet no matter how many times I restart it and it will just flash orange forever unless I unplug the Ethernet cable and restart the hub.

This means I cannot get any of the Internet services and channels on my youview box and have to leave it unplugged. There is no way to connect wirelessly that I am aware of with it.

The only occasions where I have been able to get my vt service up and running is by unplugging the Ethernet cable, resetting the hub, letting it connect to the Internet and then plugging in the Ethernet. After doing this several times, it may eventually work and remain connected. This will only work for a few hours and then it will disconnect and I have to start the whole process again.

Technical support are sending a new hub but I doubt this is going to fix the problem. I wonder whether it might be a more technical issue to do with connection settings, but I am not very tech savvy and would be very grateful for any advice and thoughts. Thanks and sorry to be so longwinded!!
0 Ratings
8 REPLIES 8
pippincp
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 9

Re: Connection lost whenever Ethernet cable plugged in from youview

This seems to be more of a problem with the youview box or ethernet cable you are using.

0 Ratings
Martin--W
Retired BT Expert
Message 3 of 9

Hello @Frustratednoob

Sorry to hear you're experiencing issues connecting to the internet. If you'd like to private message me your phone number or account number would be happy to see if I can help.