cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JC93
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 14

Constant unpredictable drops in connection, poor exterior cabling - who's responsibility is this?

Go to solution

I recently started a new tenancy for this year (I'm a student) and renewed my contract with BT for another 12 months, but the connection has been so poor that I rarely get a 20minute period where the connection doesn't drop atleast once. When the BT engineer set up the connection he mentioned that there was a fault but it was as he put it "outside of BTs responsibility" - he then quoted something a long the lines of "anything 5 metres outside the property would be illegal for us to touch". I rang my landlord and they said that they never deal with the internet and it is the responsibility of BT to get it sorted. I then called BT who conducted a number of tests and resulted in them concluding that the fault does not lie with them, however they would get an engineer out to look at it, but if it turns out that its not a problem with their installation then it would cost me £430 (obviously this is not an option).

So I find myself at a dead end really, neither the landlord nor ISP will claim responsiblity for the connection. I have looked at the wiring coming from my flat and it is incredibly old, frayed & generally a mess - I'm almost certain that the fault lies within this cabling. Here are some pictures to better explain the wiring.

This is the roof in which the wiring runs, it leaves my flat on the left and runs to the end of the roof to a box where all the cabling from each flat joins up.

As you can see the cabling is completely open to the elements, which may not be a problem if the entirity of the cabling didn't look like this: 

It then ends up at this mess: