Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SheilaT
Beginner
Message 1 of 14

Downstream Speed Issue

Bt Forums,

My Family's been on BT Broadband for years, and are currently on the unlimited wireless package, with that new Home Hub. We don't get near the 8MB connection that is promised, but we get enough for my children to play xbox and watch youtube etc. However, the speed has suddenly decreased in the last few days. My downstream is now at 286k, it will not go above this - as if it is capped there. I did research on the problem to see if others have experienced the same one, and it seems extremely similar to this issue reported here (It seems to be, I'm no expert): http://community.bt.com/t5/BB-Speed-Connection-Issues/Downstream-stuck-at-288k-no-help-from-BT/td-p/..., the line is fine and the rather pitiful phone support has not been helpful whatsoever, so I'm hoping that someone here can help with this issue.

Here is the informationfrom my Home Hub Manager, I would appreciate some help/confirmation of what's going on, and a speedy solution.

Thanks, Sheila.

Connection Information
Line state:Connected
Connection time:0 days, 06:17:35
Downstream:280.6 Kbps
Upstream:411.9 Kbps

ADSL Settings
VPI/VCI:0/38
Type:PPPoA
Modulation:G.992.5 Annex A
Latency type:Interleaved
Noise margin (Down/Up):18.6 dB / 11.0 dB
Line attenuation (Down/Up):31.4 dB / 16.3 dB
Output power (Down/Up):15.3 dBm / 9.9 dBm
FEC Events (Down/Up):0 / 0
CRC Events (Down/Up):9 / 49
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote):0 / 0
HEC Events (Down/Up):3 / 66
Error Seconds (Local/Remote):32 / 47
0 Ratings
13 REPLIES 13
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 14

Re: Downstream Speed Issue

Hi Welcome to the forum
Could you please post the full results from http://speedtester.bt.com/