cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 15

Engineer not turned up

OK so Im not the first person to complain that the BT engineer didn't turn up for the allotted appointment but I am the first one (as far as I can see) that will be doing the following:

small claims court - I wasted 6 hours waiting for the installer not to turn up. I bill my days to customers at £2,000 per day (I am a consultant) so I will be claiming the pro rata charges to BT via the small claims court

twitter - I have already discussed the suitable twitter response with my Social Media company

facebook - similarly I have intructed my SM team to build a suitable facebook page.

BT - Contact me directly to avoid this.

BT disgruntled consumers, join the crusade. 

0 Ratings
14 REPLIES 14
Sage
Sage
Message 2 of 15

Re: Engineer not turned up

Good luck with your claim and keep us updated.

0 Ratings
Icarus
Aspiring Expert
Message 3 of 15

I worked for BT and Openreach for several years in a variety of different roles.

Heard false threats like yours on an almost daily basis.

I can virtually guarantee you BT are not in the least bit worried about anything you just said.
0 Ratings
Catcher
Contributor
Message 4 of 15

So have whoever you invoiced refused to pay?

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 5 of 15

£2,000 per day is about £1,990 more than you will be offered by BT. You will of course be able to prove that you lost that amount of money as a result of the engineer not showing up. Keep us posted. I'm sure this will be an interesting thread.

0 Ratings
Distinguished Guru
Message 6 of 15

My immediate thought is that you haven't lost £2000.  You took 6 hours off to wait for the engineer to turn up.  If the engineer had turned up, you would still have taken 6 hours off.  Therefore, in that respect, you are no worse off.

You can only claim compensation for actual losses, not just some figure you've made up.