Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
dave80
Message 1 of 11

FTP Uploading issues

Hi

I am a web designer and have been uploading fine to my server and a collleagues server, but we just have a new server (Linux cloud server with Rackspace) and I have the following issues:

I can connect and quickly browse files and folder on the server via FTP.  However, when I try and upload a group of files, they are timing out.  Strangely, I can upload the odd file and it's very slow but does seem to upload ok.

But a folder of files, just times out!

My colleague has tried to replicate the problem, but he has no issues uploading to the server and says the files upload very fast.  He has also asked other people to try it and it's fine for them, so I have narrowed the problem down to some sort of issue between my BT Broadband or my equipment (such as the Home Hub).

What could be causing this issue? - Where do I start to try and solve this problem??

Thanks in advance,

Dave

Tags (3)
0 Ratings
10 REPLIES 10
Distinguished Guru
Message 2 of 11

Re: FTP Uploading issues

Do any of your colleague or the other people involved use Bt as a ISP.

This could narrow it down even further.

My homehub3 does not need any port forwarding or anything like that. FTP works out of the box

toekneem

(EASBF)

0 Ratings
dave80
Message 3 of 11

I've asked that question, I'll let you know what they say.

This is on the Homehub 2.0

I've used FTP on it loads and it's been great until we got this new server.

0 Ratings
Message 4 of 11

Hello,

File uploads can be very dependant on your upstream bandwidth. Due to the nature of ADSL it is Asymmetric (i.e Download connection speed is boosted at the expense of Upload connection speed).

It would be useful to post your ADSL stats:

In a Web Browser:
http://192.168.1.254
Click on A-Z in the top right
ADSL Settings
Copy and paste all the information from that into this forum post.