cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 11

FTTH - Fibre To The Home - Setup help

Hi there ,

So I'm a new customer and am due an installation tomorrow however for my own knowledge I'd like to get a few things cleared up.

So my first question relates to the GPON terminal itself and what should be connected to the terminal and if anything else is needed.

1. Heres my current situation. So I got my router today which by reference to the sticker is the BT Smart Hub - Type A. It has the grey broadband port.  1-4 Gig Ethernet , 1 USB 2.0 and a DC power port. And I have the openreach modem with only 1 ethernet port,  not the model with 4 ports. I am looking to connect everything up as I'm a computer technician and with the covid19 outbreak would like to atleast setup everything on the inside. 

My GPON terminal is installed on the wall with the optical cable plugged in , and the cable goes to the outside of my property. So the rest lies outside the property and getting the optical fibre cable to the actual property.

So first of all do I have the correct router to support the GPON? as I've heard there are some routers with red WAN ports. However my model doesnt. As far as I'm aware this means I will just need to run am ethernet cable (rj45) from the terminal on the wall , to my smart hub and just plug the ethernet into one of the 'Gig Ethernet' ports. 

2. The second main question I would like some more understanding on is the landline. I received a micro filter in the box with my hub, with me having  a GPON terminal , do I just plug the phone cable from the phone straight into the GPON terminal? Or do I plug the micro filter into the terminal and then connect the ADSL and phone line to the filter?

3. I dont have a home phone to use as my landline. Do BT provide one on activation? Do I need the home phone just to primarily set up the wifi/fibre?