cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
evansmg00
Beginner
Message 1 of 10

Fibre Broadband gone down

Hi would appreciate any advice. Have fibre broadband with a HomeHub 5. Internet working fine late Friday night. Woke up early yesterday to no connection and orange light of death on the hub. Tried usual resetting, hard reset, unplugging etc no joy. Rang BT support in India, the guy rang back on mobile and checked the line for 15 mins or so. He advised fault at the exchange. Said next available engineer visit is Mon 6th March. 

Checked with several neighbours no one else having any issues, none of them with BT so can't check if it's the router at fault. 

Obviously I'm not an expert but doesn't make sense that we are the only ones with a problem if it's a fault at the exchange. Fairly annoying to be without broadband for over a week at least as need to work from home and 3G is patchy in our area only works upstairs. quick search has shown engineer visit doesn't always solve these issues so thinking could be weeks before internet working again. 

We we are currently out of contract so just wondering if it might be worth doing any of the following:

ringing support again to recheck line

requesting a new router

leaving  to another provider

any thoughts or suggestions much appreciated! 

0 Ratings
9 REPLIES 9
pippincp
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 10

Re: Fibre Broadband gone down

Which exchange are you on as currently there are a few cabinet problems throughout the country due to severe weather problems?

0 Ratings
evansmg00
Beginner
Message 3 of 10

Not sure my postcode is LL11 4QE in Wrexham if that helps! Have checked and neighbours on both sides are working fine 

0 Ratings
Keith_Beddoe
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 10

Is your phone working?

0 Ratings
Jaseb41
Aspiring Expert
Message 5 of 10