Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Distinguished Guru
Message 11 of 44

Re: Freeview retune has lost BTSport 1 & 2 on BT Vision box

@KFCSpike wrote:

danstuartrob,

My understanding is that if you can see channels 507, 508 and 509 then you have been set up for multicast (possibly incorrectly!) so 58 and 59 are removed from the list.

I had similar symtpoms with broadband errors trying to view them at first - I upgraded my old (v2?) hub to a HH4 and it all started working.

I'm no expert but it seems that, in some cases (mine for example), the sport channels are provided over multicast even on non-infinity lines.

That is correct.

Most Infinity customers and a few ADSL customers will receive the sports channels as multicast broadband channels. In this situation BT install a different version of the software on the box. This version hides encrypted over-the-air channels and shows the extra multicast channels. It doesn't access the viewing card slot and hence doesn't require a viewing card.

To see if you have been moved onto the multicast software have a look at the following.

Help & Settings > Settings > System Information > Middleware Version

If it contains the word 'multicast' then guess what, you are running the multicast version.

If you think BT have mistakenly installed the multicast software on your box then you can't just turn it off. You would need to get BT to reinstall the standard software. But first you need to ask whether BT have done this intentionally because they think you can get the multicast channels. That is their preferred delivery method and means you also get ESPN.

0 Ratings
danstuartrobb
Contributor
Message 12 of 44

OK

Checked the System Info and yes it states "multicast build" so I am supposed to get them on chnls 507-509.