cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Message 1 of 5

Frustrated with low line speed

Hello all.

I returned to BT from Sky primarily because BT garanteed a faster connection than I already had for a cheaper price.

On Sky I got frustrated watching my line speed on ADSL2 drop from 10Mbps to 5.5Mbps. I waited for an age for FTTC to be installed in the cab I am connected to which isnt the nearest cab to me by a long shot. The day it was activated I ordered Sky Fibre and got 14Mbps. I moved back to BT last year after they promised a garanteed 15Mbps and expected to achieve 17-25Mbps. I was getting 14Mbps, now its 11-12Mbps.

I have had an engineer out from OpenReach who spent about 2 hours checking everything she possibly could but could not find a fault. Line tests all report back clean but speed is utter pants. I have a NTE5 master socket. I have a HH5 & an OpenReach modem (preferred).

From https://www.btwholesale.com/includes/adsl/adsl.htm?s_cid=ws_furls_adslchecker

Featured Products

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Downstream Range(Mbps)

Availability Date

HighLowHighLow    

FTTC Range A (Clean)2517.64.42.6--Available
FTTC Range B (Impacted)19.28.84.11.2--Available
WBC ADSL 2+Up to 5.5--4.5 to 6.5Available
WBC ADSL 2+ Annex MUp to 5.5Up to 14.5 to 6.5Available
ADSL MaxUp to 4.5--3 to 7.5Available
WBC Fixed Rate2 ----Available
Fixed Rate2 ----Available
Other Offerings
FTTP on Demand33030--Available
Fibre Multicast------Available
Copper Multicast------Available

From HH Helpdesk

3. Firmware version:Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.204 (Type A) Last updated Unknown
4. Board version:BT Hub 5A
5. DSL uptime:0 days, 05:14:26
6. Data rate:1122 / 11549
7. Maximum data rate:1121 / 11098
8. Noise margin:6.3 / 5.9
9. Line attenuation:14.7 / 30.5
10. Signal attenuation:14.7 / 26.3