cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JackPhillips
Aspiring Contributor
Message 1 of 11

Going round in circles

Hi, I've tried the online chat facility and calling BT direct today to report a fault but I seem unable to get any satisfactory answers to the issue that I have with my landline. Callers to my number say they can barely hear me, and I can't dial out. The online diagnostic tool states there are no issues with my line despite the two issues already mentioned. I have a very old master socket which has for the last 19 years had an iffy connection in it, slightly moving the connector plug from the phone can disrupt a call. My understanding (from BT today) is that everything up to and including the master socket is their responsibility. Today I have been advised that for an enginner to replace the master socket it will cost me £129. But if I were to replace the master socket I would then breach the terms of use conditions and could face possible sanction.  So BT seem unwilling to take responsibility for maintaining their network and equipment but are more than happy to charge their own customers £129 in order to replace a master socket that I can't touch without breaching the terms and conditions. Is this right?

0 Ratings
10 REPLIES 10
john46
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 11

Re: Going round in circles

The charge is raised by Openreach as they supply and maintain the network. All BT do is pass on the charge just as every one of the other 500 service providers do.

You will pay the fee if the fault's with:
Your home wiring past the main socket, for example, extensions
The way you've got your equipment connected
Interference from something, for example your phone, alarm system, micro-filter or broadband router
Damage to our network, for example cut wire, damage from building work, trees or pets, or damage to sockets
0 Ratings
Devon_Dave
Distinguished Guru
Message 3 of 11