cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor
Message 1 of 41

HOME HUB 5 - SETTING STATIC LAN IP ADDRESS FOR PRINTER

Hi. I'm new to this method of problem solving, so please excuse me if I have missed something somewhere.

I suspect that I could sort my own problem if I could get hold of a proper manual, but apparently there isn't one - or, if there is, I'm considered a bit too simple to use it.

I've just changed over to BT Infinity from another ISP.

I have a home LAN (internal network) that includes 3 hard-wired devices and a number of wireless devices. This network was fine under the previous ISP, using a Netgear router and later a Draytek router. The only 'non-standard' set-up was/is that the printer had a static IP address (internal). We did this because otherwise we found out that some of the devices (mainly laptops) couldn't always find the printer to communicate with it as the address was always changing. A static IP sorted that.

The new Home Hub 5 (HH5 from now on to save typing) has arrived and been 'set up' by the visiting BT engineer. I explained to him the requirement for a static IP for the printer and he said it would be no problem using the BT software download (BT Desktop Help).

There is nothing within the BT Desktop Help that tells you about internal static IPs.

Eventually I fould the way into the software and came across a useful looking page called 'devices'. This (apparently) lists all of the devices currently connected to the HH5. The list included two laptops and two smartphones via wireless. If I moved a laptop from wireless to hard-wired, the device list changed to reflect this.

Despite the printer being hard-wired to the HH5 it did not appear on the device list.

I checked that I could print from each of the laptops, whether hard-wired or wireless. I could.