cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ceciliad
Message 1 of 7

Help needed - Torrents stopped working

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie and I really need your help.

I just moved into a flat where they already had BT. Wireless was crappy so I connected my iMac via cable and everything seemed to be fine.

I use the internet *a lot*, downloading via iTunes, watching tv online, downloading (legal) torrents...

I went over 100gb download (I think - pretty safe guess, but I don't have access to the main BT email address). I know that at this point BT caps your speeds, ok, annoying but whatever.

MY PROBLEM IS: at the same time, torrents stopped downloading, at all. At 8am as well as 8pm. They are still uploading (10K), but not downloading at all. The torrent shows 0 peers (but I know this isn't true, they just stopped point blank).

Can someone help a donzel in distress?

I have NO idea why this is happening. The port in the torrent client (Transmission for Mac) is open.

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
ceciliad
Message 2 of 7

Re: Help needed - Torrents stopped working

up
0 Ratings
RubberNutter
Contributor
Message 3 of 7

Hi

What torrent client are you using and have you setup port forwarding on the router?

0 Ratings
Message 4 of 7

She's already stated that she's using Transmission and the port is open.

I don't really use Transmission myself.. When Torrenting I use KTorrent. Dunno if that is available for Macs though ?

Ubuntu58.jpeg

An MSCE in computing is like having a McDonalds Certification in World Cuisine, pointless.
0 Ratings
RubberNutter
Contributor
Message 5 of 7

Hi

sorry missed that bit, need to read more carefully, I would suggest accessing the router and ensure the port forwarding has been setup, this is the most likely cause.

0 Ratings
spacepilot
Aspiring Expert
Message 6 of 7