cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Beginner
Message 1 of 6

Home Cinema and the BT Vision Box

I am new to BT Vision and waiting for the BT Vision equipment to arrive and get set up.My question is can you connect a Home Cinema System to the BT Vision box that comes with the Top range package ( the Ultra HD package ).Also I was with BT Vision when it first came out but gave up with it because I had so many problems with the picturs freezing and it kept re booting in the middle of a programe.I take it that problem must of been sorted by now I HOPE! Are there any problems with BT Vision that I should be aware of?

0 Ratings
5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Recognised Expert
Message 2 of 6

Re: Home Cinema and the BT Vision Box

BT Vision is the name for the legacy system BT run, the new service is called BTTV. The ultra box that comes with the top package is way beyond the vision system and although not perfect (they are about to upgrade the whole ui to a newer 'next gen' version - this will have a few teething issues but will eventually be an even better system) it is pretty good.

As for connecting it to a home cinema system it depends what you mean. The box has an optical output that can be connected to give full surround on any channel that provides it. It also works even better through HDMI BUT because this is an ultra hd box it does need a HDCP2.2 compliant receiver to accept it in uhd mode.

0 Ratings
Highlighted
Aspiring Expert
Message 3 of 6

I have no stuttering or other issues you mention from your previous experiences. 52mb download speed on my line.

The new UHD box is very fast and responsive and for me, just works. OK with the AV amp and I did not pay silly money for the HDMI leads though I think I have a toslink to the AV amp as a backup (main fed to TV then to amp as it is an old amp).