Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Darcstar
Beginner
Message 1 of 28

Home Hub 3 and wireless access points plugged in to the ports

Hi all,

being a veteren to IT and wireless networking I am not a complete novice, just saying to set the scene.

I have a wired network and wireless devices from Iphone, PS3, desktop and a few wireless laptops Win7 and XP so a good portfolio of options.

I had a single wireless ADSL model and 2 wireless access points. all Belkin kit and all reliable could connect to any of the 3 without issue. ( 2 are N and 1 is G )

Now BT Infinity has arrived. and a single N wireless adsl modem router has been replaced by the BT Home Hub 3 and 2 access points are connected to it.

So All wired access works fine, all Wireless access to my original access points work fine.

I can not connect any wireless device to the BT HH3 , its being seen ok, I have tried the default key and tried setting it to a dumbo key of 11112222 to ensure no typing error is in coming into play.

If I leave my access points powered up but unplug the cable into the HH3 I can connect wirelessly to it no problem, disconnect and reconnect no problem , no prompting of password ( after first input )

As soon as I connect the ethernet cable to the HH3 from my access points, I can continue to use the wirless through HH3 but if that device connects to my access points and then tries to go back to the HH3 , it will be refused connection.

And no more new wireless connections can be made through the HH3.

This is Bizarre and I am hoping someone may have a reason for this?

This is the 2nd HH3 from BT which has now lead me to this conclusion after further tests.

All my access points have "protected mode off" so that shouldnt be part of the issue .

Any help or advice from any Guru's 🐵

0 Ratings
27 REPLIES 27
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 28

Re: Home Hub 3 and wireless access points plugged in to the ports