Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Keith66
Contributor
Message 1 of 7

How do I keep BT IP address up to date to view CCTV cameras on DVR whilst away

Go to solution

Our 4 CCTV external home security cameras are linked to a DVR and Monitor in the house
The DVR is a 4CH  H.264 Multiplex DVR
I have a Dyndns address to which my BT IP address  is updated by a Dyndns updater on the PC
We have a BT 4 Hub - When my BT IP address changes the updater picks up the change and the change is relayed to my Dyndns account
This of course depends on my PC being switched on 
We use Ipcam viewer pro to monitor our cameras whilst we are away from home 
Last time we were away the BT IP address changed and as the PC is not left on whilst we were away we could not connect to our cameras via the Ipcam viewer
Is there any way round this problem 
I am only a beginner / improver as far as technology is concerned but can usually sort things out if pointed in the right direction 

0 Ratings
6 REPLIES 6
Keith_Beddoe
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 7

Re: How do I keep BT IP address up to date to view CCTV cameras on DVR whilst away

Go to solution

The home hubs have an inbuilt Dynamic DNS updater where you can enter your DynDNS user name, password, and host name.

If the public IP address changes, the home hub updates DynDNS.

Look under help, A-Z, Dynamic DNS.

hh4ddns.jpg

Keith66
Contributor
Message 3 of 7

Re: How do I keep BT IP address up to date to view CCTV cameras on DVR whilst away

Go to solution

Wow - Thanks Keith

Followed your instructions and have inserted my details in my hub

Got the following confirmation on screen to confirm that it was successful

"Dynamic DNS service status: Connected - IP address updated successfully"

0 Ratings
Keith_Beddoe
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 4 of 7

Go to solution

There, that was painless Smiley Wink

MorgaineD
Expert
Message 5 of 7

Go to solution