cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
nicole1986
Message 1 of 18

How do i stop others using my wireless connection?

Go to solution

hello

i'm new to this so hope i'm posting in the right place.

I am wanting to find out how to stop others from getting into my wireless connection.  can anyone advise.

thanks

nicole

0 Ratings
17 REPLIES 17
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 2 of 18

Re: How do i stop others using my wireless connection?

Go to solution

what router do you use?  if bt hub which version?  do you use wireles connection yourself?  wpa security should be ok

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
0 Ratings
IanC
Recognised Expert
Message 3 of 18

Go to solution

@nicole1986 wrote:

I am wanting to find out how to stop others from getting into my wireless connection.  can anyone advise.

a) If you don't need wireless yourself, turn it off in your router (might not be straightforward, depending on the router) or

b) ensure that your wireless is secured (WPA/WPA2) and keep the security key to yourself.

nicole1986
Message 4 of 18

Go to solution

thanks for this, it's bt home hub 2.  yes use wireless myself.  how do i get wpa security

0 Ratings
Distinguished Sage
Distinguished Sage
Message 5 of 18

Go to solution

your hh2 comes with wpa as standard

If you like a post, or want to say thanks for a helpful answer, please click on the Ratings 'Thumbs up' on left hand side.
If someone answers your question correctly please let other members know by clicking on ’Mark as Accepted Solution’.
Distinguished Guru
Message 6 of 18

Go to solution

Hi and welcome.

Unlike a lot of routers the BT Homehub does come as default with WPA security set, is there any reason why you think you need to stop others using your wireless?